Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Development

Notices

Old 11-02-2014, 01:30 AM   #1
sthuck
sthuck began at the beginning.

Device: none
Where copying to library is done in calibre

Hey everyone,

I'm a beginner programer who just so happens to like Calibre very much, and would like to start by adding some small functionality I want, hopefully if I feel the code I'll produce will be good enough and the functionality is acceptable I'll be able to contribute it, basically I want an option to symlink the book instead of copying (as the directory structure isn't to the choice of the user, and I already like mine with no space for double copies)

I just spend 3 hours trying to navigate the code but apparently my python skills are quite bad - I tried to follow calibre.gui2.add and gui2.actions.add but couldn't really find where the copy is being done. After some greping my current guess is in calibre.db.backend (copy_format_to?) but I'm entirely not sure. If someone can point me to the right direction I'd appreciate it. If that someone just so happens remembers vaguely the function call leading up to from the 'add' action that I'd appreciate it even more, as I want to add it as a proper config option and all (but I understand if it's too much to ask, it's like 50% of actually writing the patch I'll probably manage without it).
sthuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2014, 04:04 AM   #2
chaley
Grand Sorcerer