Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-08-2018, 10:17 PM   #1
ChipAHoy
Thistle Sifter
ChipAHoy has a certain pleonastic somethingChipAHoy has a certain pleonastic somethingChipAHoy has a certain pleonastic somethingChipAHoy has a certain pleonastic somethingChipAHoy has a certain pleonastic somethingChipAHoy has a certain pleonastic somethingChipAHoy has a certain pleonastic somethingChipAHoy has a certain pleonastic somethingChipAHoy has a certain pleonastic somethingChipAHoy has a certain pleonastic somethingChipAHoy has a certain pleonastic something
 
ChipAHoy's Avatar
 
Posts: 119
Karma: 18520
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: San Diego
Device: Kindle Paperwhite
Question how did Calibre library become read-only?

I am not sure how this happened, but when I try to edit some of my entries within Calibre, I get a read-only message. How can I change this setting?

Also, how do I reset the location on my computer that Calibre looks in for my ebook files?
ChipAHoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2018, 10:23 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 33,478
Karma: 10205098
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
It would help if you posted the detailed error, but typically this is caused by either filesystem problems or anti-virus programs that decide to block access.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 02-09-2018, 03:08 PM   #3
ChipAHoy
Thistle Sifter
ChipAHoy has a certain pleonastic somethingChipAHoy has a certain pleonastic somethingChipAHoy has a certain pleonastic somethingChipAHoy has a certain pleonastic somethingChipAHoy has a certain pleonastic somethingChipAHoy has a certain pleonastic somethingChipAHoy has a certain pleonastic somethingChipAHoy has a certain pleonastic somethingChipAHoy has a certain pleonastic somethingChipAHoy has a certain pleonastic somethingChipAHoy has a certain pleonastic something
 
ChipAHoy's Avatar
 
Posts: 119
Karma: 18520
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: San Diego
Device: Kindle Paperwhite
read-only

what kind of file system error might it be?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2018-02-09 at 12.06.33 PM.png
Views:	203
Size:	212.3 KB
ID:	162158  
ChipAHoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2018, 03:39 PM   #4
kacir
Wizard
kacir ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kacir ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kacir ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kacir ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kacir ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kacir ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kacir ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kacir ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kacir ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kacir ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kacir ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kacir's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,309
Karma: 5555555
Join Date: May 2006
Device: PocketBook 360, before it was Sony Reader, cassiopeia A-20
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChipAHoy View Post
what kind of file system error might it be?
What system are you on?
Apple?
Try opening the Calibre Library directory with a file manager and try to create a folder (directory) and create a file inside that folder (directory).
As long as Calibre isn't running at that moment nothing bad should happen.

Calibre complains that the filesystem is read only, so have a look whether it is true.
kacir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2018, 05:25 PM   #5
BetterRed
null operator
BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 11,079
Karma: 10563148
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney Australia
Device: none
@ChipAhoy - looks like something on your system is either, changing the file attributes of the metadata.db file in the library folder, or changing its permission settings or those of its parent folder. I've no idea what that might be. Pretty sure it wouldn't be calibre though. Probably the OS itself, or 3rd party security software. Which version/editions of Windows are you using?

You could use File Properties to examine the file attributes and permissions (Security tab) of the metadata.db file, that might give you some clues.

BR
BetterRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 02-09-2018, 08:49 PM   #6
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 33,478
Karma: 10205098
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
That's most likely an antivirus blocking calibre. Because of the way anti-virus programs work, those errors present as read only errors.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 06:39 PM   #7
CRussel
Grand Sorcerer
CRussel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.CRussel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.CRussel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.CRussel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.CRussel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.CRussel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.CRussel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.CRussel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.CRussel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.CRussel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.CRussel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
CRussel's Avatar
 
Posts: 9,525
Karma: 56509032
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Sunshine Coast, BC
Device: Kindle Voyage,Kindle PW, Fire HD 8.9, Fire HD8
In a windows environment, one can end up with this issue on a clean install with the Calibre folder attached at the root of a drive. (ie, d:\calibre as the database) This is because, by default, Windows makes non-adminstrators have read-only access to the root of the drive, and calibre runs (as it _should_) without elevating privilege.

I ran into this recently when I virtualized the server that was hosting my calibre database, and forgot to reset the permissions. Duh.

Result? A complaint about a corrupted database. Sigh. Once I changed the permissions to give 'users' write permission, all was well.
CRussel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2018, 06:09 PM   #8
LadyKate
Fanatic
LadyKate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.LadyKate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.LadyKate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.LadyKate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.LadyKate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.LadyKate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.LadyKate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.LadyKate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.LadyKate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.LadyKate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.LadyKate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 511
Karma: 1470724
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Quebec CA
Device: android 4 (samsung tablet and asus tablet)
I am eager to hear if the OP solved the problem.
LadyKate is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calibre won't read library drn001 Devices 12 10-10-2017 04:47 PM
Calibre Library vs Calibre Companion (Read column) bhoon Library Management 2 05-11-2015 11:22 PM
Is it possible to get Calibre View to read ebooks not in the Calibre library? photon_man62 Calibre 23 07-16-2014 11:29 PM
Is it possible for Calibre on one PC to read from the library on another? Kuram Related Tools 4 03-04-2014 02:18 PM
How can I indicate what books I've read in my Calibre Library? philipca Library Management 5 11-17-2011 11:20 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:40 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.