Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Android Devices > enTourage eDGe

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-01-2012, 03:14 PM   #1
asnider123
Connoisseur
asnider123 is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 54
Karma: 62
Join Date: Dec 2011
Device: Entourage Pocket Edge Golden-Allmine-Ermine-rc3
remapping a folder ???

I have been thoroughly unsuccessful in getting link2sd to work, my PE just won't talk to an sdcard that has been partitioned. Which makes me think that anything so particular might not be the way for me to go.

As it stands, I have modded the vold.internal and vold.external files so that /extsdcard refers to the internal sd, whereas the /sdcard does, indeed, go to the removable sdcard. So far so good.

Now I would like to map that 3gig internal partition as /system/app and use it to replace the puny 322mb original.

So is this possible? Could I use vold.fstab.internal to mount the partition as /system/app/? Would I wind up with two /system/app/ folders or would the new partition replace the original?

I know it's a stupid question, but I am an Android virgin

Thanks
asnider123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 05:48 PM   #2
Filark
Armed with a smile :)
Filark ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Filark ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Filark ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Filark ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Filark ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Filark ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Filark ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Filark ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Filark ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Filark ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Filark ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Filark's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,421
Karma: 2463560
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: California, USA
Device: enTourage eDGe & Pocket eDGe, Samsung Galaxy Note II
I would like to know how something that is completely over my head can be a stupid question??

I hope someone who understands what you're asking will provide an answer. Meanwhile, I am wondering why you don't just flash your PE with the pablob Allmine Ermine (version rc3) which I think provides a much healthier app storage partition? Or have you gone beyond that somehow??

Whatever you do, good luck!
Filark is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 02-01-2012, 07:56 PM   #3
asnider123
Connoisseur
asnider123 is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 54
Karma: 62
Join Date: Dec 2011
Device: Entourage Pocket Edge Golden-Allmine-Ermine-rc3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Filark View Post
I would like to know how something that is completely over my head can be a stupid question??

I hope someone who understands what you're asking will provide an answer. Meanwhile, I am wondering why you don't just flash your PE with the pablob Allmine Ermine (version rc3) which I think provides a much healthier app storage partition? Or have you gone beyond that somehow??

Whatever you do, good luck!
RC3?? I am not sure what level I am at. I flashed twice, once with
update.zip.ermine-0.9.PE dated 5/29/11

And again with
Allmine-latest-update downloaded 12/14/11
along with
gapps-hdpi-20101114-signed downloaded 12/14/11

Is there a later version of Allmine or Ermine? Can I just reflash with newer Allmine or would I need to go clear back to Dingo and start over (which I would really not enjoy)
asnider123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 12:16 AM   #4
asnider123
Connoisseur
asnider123 is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 54
Karma: 62
Join Date: Dec 2011
Device: Entourage Pocket Edge Golden-Allmine-Ermine-rc3
Hey Filark, I reflashed the machine with RC3, it did exactly what I wanted to do: give me more app space and less internal sdcard. Wonderful, thanks for the heads-up!!!!!

Alan
asnider123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Kindle Touch]Remapping Home Button key? acemutha Kindle Developer's Corner 6 01-12-2012 11:05 AM
Request Keyscan files on SD for keyboard remapping, PLEASE PBMax enTourage Archive 0 12-05-2010 05:11 PM
Remapping of Enter to suspend the reader iamphet Sony Reader Dev Corner 4 10-17-2008 11:39 AM
remapping buttons kaas Sony Reader Dev Corner 3 07-31-2008 04:35 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:32 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.