Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Formats > PDF

Notices

Old 05-28-2010, 01:52 PM   #1
nick000
nick000 began at the beginning.

Device: none
e-ink reader for PDF annotation?

Mobilereaders, I'm new to this and I'd appreciate your advice.

I'm and looking for (what should be) basic e-reader functionality that, so far as I can tell, doesn't exist on any e-ink reader yet. I would like to be able to:

1. Get pdfs onto an e-ink reader (preferably through a wifi connection to my laptop and/or the internet, but I could live with using a usb connection to my laptop).
2. Use the reader to view and annotate the pdfs--at least, highlight and make text notes.
3. Sync the annotated pdfs back to my laptop (or the internet) and view the pdfs with their annotations on my laptop.

4. View ebooks in epub and azw/mobi. (Other supported formats a bonus.)

Does anyone know of any existing or upcoming reader/software combination that would allow me to do all of this? I understand that some Sony readers can do (1) and (2), but not (3) or (4). I'm hoping I can achieve it through some software workaround. Or maybe there is some upcoming ereader that will allow me to do all of this?

Please let me know your thoughts.

As a sidenote, whoever puts out an e-ink reader with this functionality will have millions of professionals and academics throwing money at them.
nick000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 05:19 PM   #2
idlogin
idlogin began at the beginning.

Device: one that reads pdf's best
from the WWDC 2010 anouncements, even though i hate to recommend it, the iPad can now do annotations on pdf( i think :-) ) . You may also look at the ASUS eee tablet which was announced at Computex 2010 last week, it's probably the best e-reader with ability to take notes etc.

my two pence.

some links:
http://appadvice.com/appnn/2010/04/i...ewer-showdown/
Asus EEE Tablet : http://armdevices.net/2010/06/01/asus-eee-tablet/