Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Old 01-04-2011, 08:48 AM   #1
jvik
jvik began at the beginning.

Device: Nook
Bulk Metadata Editing not working

I'm pretty new to calibre, so it's probably something simple I'm doing wrong. I'm running the 7.37 version of calibre.

Adding books to calibre, my file-system naming convention has been
last-name, first-name - title
and I get "last-name, first-name" in the Authors field. So I'm trying to use the bulk editing feature for metadata to change that to "first-name last-name", but it's not working either with regex mode or character match mode.

I have 10 books by Pete Overshoe selected. The author field is set to "Overshoe, Pete". In both Character match and regex mode, when I set the search field to Authors, the Book 1 ... List shows the value as "Overshoe | Pete". After setting the search for and replace fields appropriately for the mode I'm using, if I enter "Overshoe, Pete" in the test text, the test result correctly shoes "Pete Overshoe", but the book list results remain unchanged and if I apply the changes there is no result.

I'm pretty sure I was able to do this in 7.35. Is this a bug in the new version?

Thanks for any suggestions.
jvik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 08:51 AM   #2
jvik

I know that with the example I used - all books by a single author - I could just set the author with the basic metadata page, but the real goal is to be able to do it for multiple authors with regular expressions.

Thanks.
Advert
Old 01-04-2011, 08:56 AM   #3
chaley
Grand Sorcerer