Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book General > Reading Recommendations

Notices

Old 02-07-2007, 10:15 AM   #1
Tenkian
Enthusiast
Tenkian began at the beginning.

Device: Sony PRS-500
Contacting Authors about eBooks

Here is a message I am attempting to send to several of my favourite Authors to try to convince them to release eBook versions of their work.
Peter F. Hamilton
Alastair Reynolds
Neal Asher
Tony Ballantyne
Charles Stross

I know some of them have a select few books already available in electronic format.
Quote:
Firstly I would like to thank you for the many hours of enjoyment over the years reading your books. As a technical analyst, I have a great enthusiasm for technology science fiction. I know that as a science fiction author, you probably share this enthusiasm.

One of the technologies that has excited me, is the e-Ink book readers that have recently been released. I recently purchased a Sony PRS-500 Reader (www.sony.com/reader) and found that for the first time, a device offers all the benefits of paper books with many advantages. The display is different than an LCD and is as good as reading a printed page. The ability to carry around my entire book collection in one small device would be a godsend. I honestly believe that eBooks are the future of books just as MP3 has taken over from CDs. As text takes up a very small amount of space, I can literally fit thousands of books on my reader.

The device is there and exists now. The only problem that exists now is lack of content. I ask you as a fan of your work to help this technology get off the ground. I purchase your new releases as soon as they are released in book format. I would love it if I could purchase your work for use on my reader device. I believe that having a well known and popular author as yourself releasing material in this format could help kick-start the adoption of eBooks into the mainstream.