Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Amazon Kindle > Kindle Developer's Corner

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-02-2013, 09:02 AM   #796
NiLuJe
BLAM!
NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
NiLuJe's Avatar
 
Posts: 7,040
Karma: 6678009
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Paris, France
Device: Kindle 2i, 3g, 4, 5w, (PW) & PW2; Kobo H2O
@arad26: You didn't have the bridge installed, or you did a factory reset since you installed it.
NiLuJe is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 11-02-2013, 09:07 AM   #797
arad26
Zealot
arad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbit
 
Posts: 120
Karma: 60050
Join Date: Jan 2012
Device: PW2
Quote:
Originally Posted by NiLuJe View Post
@arad26: You didn't have the bridge installed, or you did a factory reset since you installed it.
How do i install the bridge? I didn't do any factory reset.
arad26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 12:05 PM   #798
NiLuJe
BLAM!
NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
NiLuJe's Avatar
 
Posts: 7,040
Karma: 6678009
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Paris, France
Device: Kindle 2i, 3g, 4, 5w, (PW) & PW2; Kobo H2O
@arad26: Unless your Kindle was jailbroken a good long while ago, the jailbreak does.

Barring that, on a jailbroken device: https://www.mobileread.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=186645
NiLuJe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 12:07 PM   #799
GoSharks
SQUIRREL!!
GoSharks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GoSharks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GoSharks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GoSharks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GoSharks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GoSharks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GoSharks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GoSharks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GoSharks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GoSharks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GoSharks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
GoSharks's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,615
Karma: 8011482
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: California
Device: K-Fire, PW2, PW3
Quote:
Originally Posted by arad26 View Post
How do i install the bridge? I didn't do any factory reset.
You will need to downgrade your firmware to 5.3.5, then follow all of the directions on the first post of the Jailbreak thread here...INCLUDING applying the bridge. Then you can 'upgrade' your firmware and the jailbreak will survive. You can then reapply the ScreenSaver hack.
GoSharks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 12:08 PM   #800
ixtab
(offline)
ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
ixtab's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,907
Karma: 6727286
Join Date: Dec 2011
Device: K3, K4, K5, KPW, KPW2
FWIW, I have also (once) experienced the jailbreak not being preserved by the bridge on a firmware update. I don't know what could be causing that.
ixtab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 01:41 PM   #801
arad26
Zealot
arad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbit
 
Posts: 120
Karma: 60050
Join Date: Jan 2012
Device: PW2
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoSharks View Post
You will need to downgrade your firmware to 5.3.5, then follow all of the directions on the first post of the Jailbreak thread here...INCLUDING applying the bridge. Then you can 'upgrade' your firmware and the jailbreak will survive. You can then reapply the ScreenSaver hack.
I did that previously and the jailbreak didn't survive after upgrading to the new software.
arad26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 03:10 PM   #802
NiLuJe
BLAM!
NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
NiLuJe's Avatar
 
Posts: 7,040
Karma: 6678009
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Paris, France
Device: Kindle 2i, 3g, 4, 5w, (PW) & PW2; Kobo H2O
@arad26: Define 'previously'.
NiLuJe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 04:06 PM   #803
arad26
Zealot
arad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbit
 
Posts: 120
Karma: 60050
Join Date: Jan 2012
Device: PW2
Quote:
Originally Posted by NiLuJe View Post
@arad26: Define 'previously'.
I installed the jailbreak which has the bridge in it by default (i just saw that) and i lost the jailbreak twice : once when i upgraded to 5.3.8 and 5.3.8.1 .
arad26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 04:22 PM   #804
NiLuJe
BLAM!
NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
NiLuJe's Avatar
 
Posts: 7,040
Karma: 6678009
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Paris, France
Device: Kindle 2i, 3g, 4, 5w, (PW) & PW2; Kobo H2O
@arad26: Installed from which FW version? (ie. which jailbreak [the 'bundled' install might have been broken at one point]).
NiLuJe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 04:25 PM   #805
arad26
Zealot
arad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbit
 
Posts: 120
Karma: 60050
Join Date: Jan 2012
Device: PW2
Quote:
Originally Posted by NiLuJe View Post
@arad26: Installed from which FW version? (ie. which jailbreak [the 'bundled' install might have been broken at one point]).

the bundled jailbreak which has the bridge and the dev cert. included. Once i downgraded to 5.3.1 and install the jb and another time to 5.3.5
arad26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 04:34 PM   #806
NiLuJe
BLAM!
NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
NiLuJe's Avatar
 
Posts: 7,040
Karma: 6678009
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Paris, France
Device: Kindle 2i, 3g, 4, 5w, (PW) & PW2; Kobo H2O
Hmm. That's ixtab's jb then, can't tell you much about it... Did you make sure it was completely successful?

So, err, just to try installing the bridge manually after the JB? (it can't hurt anyway).

EDIT: Never actually checked, but an unregister/register *might* also kill the bridge like it does the devcerts...

Last edited by NiLuJe; 11-02-2013 at 04:37 PM.
NiLuJe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 06:26 PM   #807
arad26
Zealot
arad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbit
 
Posts: 120
Karma: 60050
Join Date: Jan 2012
Device: PW2
Quote:
Originally Posted by NiLuJe View Post
Hmm. That's ixtab's jb then, can't tell you much about it... Did you make sure it was completely successful?

So, err, just to try installing the bridge manually after the JB? (it can't hurt anyway).

EDIT: Never actually checked, but an unregister/register *might* also kill the bridge like it does the devcerts...
It was successful for sure every time. I never unregistered the device.
arad26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 12:22 PM   #808
GoSharks
SQUIRREL!!
GoSharks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GoSharks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GoSharks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GoSharks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GoSharks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GoSharks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GoSharks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GoSharks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GoSharks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GoSharks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GoSharks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
GoSharks's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,615
Karma: 8011482
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: California
Device: K-Fire, PW2, PW3
@arad26
Have you tried applying any other hack (to prove if it is the jailbreak or the hack)? Perhaps a corrupt Jailbreak or Screensaver hack download?
You might try redownloading and applying ...
GoSharks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 02:25 PM   #809
arad26
Zealot
arad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbitarad26 with a running start, can leap into geosynchronous orbit
 
Posts: 120
Karma: 60050
Join Date: Jan 2012
Device: PW2
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoSharks View Post
@arad26
Have you tried applying any other hack (to prove if it is the jailbreak or the hack)? Perhaps a corrupt Jailbreak or Screensaver hack download?
You might try redownloading and applying ...

I have tried that already, thought about it myself....and after several tries i realised the jailbreak is gone. Could not install anything and had to make all the steps to apply the jailbreak again. Hope there is a fix for that soon
arad26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 02:39 PM   #810
knc1
Analog Forever!
knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
knc1's Avatar
 
Posts: 16,079
Karma: 17222570
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Central Texas
Device: No K1, PW2, KV, KOA
Quote:
Originally Posted by arad26 View Post
I have tried that already, thought about it myself....and after several tries i realised the jailbreak is gone. Could not install anything and had to make all the steps to apply the jailbreak again. Hope there is a fix for that soon
Why not keep your Kindle locked at a revision that does retain the jailbreak?

Don't expect any new jailbreak efforts any time soon on a device for which a jailbreak can be maintained by user action (I.E: Just don't load that newer firmware version).
knc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
kindle touch hacks, paperwhite, python, screensavers, touch

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where are the Kindle Paperwhite screensavers stored? redrock Amazon Kindle 7 04-21-2014 05:11 AM
Troubleshooting My Kindle Touch does not show screensavers cazurrito Amazon Kindle 4 02-24-2013 05:20 AM
Kindle Touch Custom Screensavers yifanlu Kindle Developer's Corner 27 08-22-2012 06:51 AM
Kindle Touch - Broke my screensavers ZerMongo Amazon Kindle 2 06-09-2012 03:02 PM
Hack for screensavers on Kindle 2 KookyKathy Introduce Yourself 5 01-09-2010 11:16 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:57 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.