Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Which one should I buy?

Notices

Old 12-05-2018, 12:33 PM   #1
Knobby
Knobby began at the beginning.

Device: none
Need some advice on my new e-reader

Hi all! This is my first post here and I would like some advice of you knowledgeable folk.

I've been using my trusty Sony PRS-T1 since januari 2012 and I absolutely love the e-reader concept. Before when I would go on holiday I would take a 20kg bag full of books and would have read right through them before the holiday was even half over! Now i just take my e-reader and don't even need to charge it once.

Having said that, using the same reader daily for 7 years has definitely taken it's toll and it's been having some really annoying issues lately, mostly with the device freezing for minutes on end quite often.

In all that time I haven't really followed new e-reader releases as I was quite happy with what I had. So I actually was under the impression that nowadays the only choice was between Kobo and Kindle and I didn't quite like either.

However after orienting myself I actually find myself with too many options.
As most of the devices seem relatively equal in the price and specs, I would love to have some feedback about the day to day use from people who actually own them.

I'll start with what I find important and what I don't care about, and then I'll list the devices I found and hope to get some feedback on.

Specs:
Must have:
  • HD resolution, around 300dpi.
  • touchscreen
  • built-in light with blue filter
  • epub
  • 6 inch screen or 6,8 at most.
  • price range of €100 - €170 (might stretch to 200 if there is a compelling reason)
Like to have:
  • Waterproof
  • New Oxford English dictionary
  • or ability to load custom dictionaries
  • open system
  • physical buttons (although this is definitely not a deal breaker)
Don't care about (but would not mind having):
  • Wifi
  • Cloud
  • android