Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Kobo Reader

Notices

Old 03-03-2014, 03:48 AM   #1
Stridr
Stridr began at the beginning.

Device: Kindle Paperwhite 2
Does the Kobo Aura have something similar to Kindle Paperwhite's "page flip" feature?

I'm trying to decide between the Kobo Aura and the Kindle Paperwhite v.2. I have a lot of books that are in epub format, and so this makes the Kobo Aura tempting. Another big plus for me is that the Aura has 4 gb of memory and the ability to expand memory with an sd card.

So assuming the interface is as good as nearly as good as the Kindle Paperwhite v.2, that would be my choice.

Unfortunately, I don't have anyway to to "test drive" an Aura. It's not carried by any local stores, and I don't know anyone who has one.

I have had some experience with the Kindle Paperwhite v.2. I bought one as a gift for my Mom and spent some time putting books on it and playing around with it before giving it away.

My plan was to get one for myself also if I really liked it. However, I found it was more of a pain than I expected to conver the epubs to Kindle files. I was able to do it, but it would be real inconvenience to have to do this continually. Also, the memory of the Kindle filled up real fast. And while things worked fine at first, there were problems within a week... Turns out that for the Kindle to operate properly, you need to leave a lot of free space in the memory, because Kindle needs to fill this with various system files.