Notices

Old 01-12-2022, 03:41 AM   #1
Antioch
Connoisseur
Antioch began at the beginning.

Device: Nook STR, Kobo Aura H2O, Kobo Libra 2
Libra 2 vs Aura H2O

Hello, all!

I've been using an Aura H20 since launch in 2014 (used an original Nook Simple Touch before that) and am considering upgrading to the new Libra 2. I'm primarily interested in the improved, "natural" backlight as my Aura H20 is stuck with blue only (I used to enjoy reading library books on old, mildly yellowed pages), and improved display quality.

Before purchase, however, I had some questions that I hope that the community can help with:
  1. Is there a noticeable improvement in eInk quality? That is, is the crisper text from the slight bump in DPI and the claimed improved contrast visibly noticeable?
  2. What is the consensus regarding holding the device one-handed on the side? FWIW, I mainly hold my Aura H20 with two hands along the bottom, occasionally with a single hand making a "L" shape also along the bottom.
  3. Is the OverDrive feature blocked at the firmware level based on the market in which the device was purchased? I.e., if I buy one in Japan (I think there is no OverDrive there) and switch the language to English will I be able to use it with OverDrive from my local library?

I've watched several review videos but these issues aren't covered, and it's hard to judge display quality of a device in this manner anyhow. The device does seem to be noticeably faster at page turns and book loading than my Aura H20, which is great.

Thank you for your feedback!
Antioch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2022, 08:13 AM   #2
davidfor
Grand Sorcerer