Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Old 08-01-2010, 10:36 PM   #1
apb
apb began at the beginning.

Device: Sony PRS-300, iPod Touch
How to tell if it's a Topaz, in advance?

Greetings. Newbie here.

I just bought a novel from Amazon via Kindle for PC. It's an .azw file (with an accompanying .mbp file, which means nothing to me). I added it to Calibre, and then tried to convert it to epub. It failed, and the error details indicated that it was a Topaz format item and couldn't be converted.

I had read earlier about the Topaz issue, but how could I have known before I bought the ebook that it was one of those? Do I have to download the sample first?

(I could have bought the same title as an epub, but the Kindle version was cheaper. False economy, as it turns out!)

I have read that there is a non-Calibre two-step process for converting Topaz to epub, but it sounds way more complicated than I can deal with.

Guess I'll be downloading the Kindle app so that I can at least read this one on my Touch. (I've previously just used Stanza on that.)

Thanks for any advice.
apb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2010, 10:47 PM   #2
texasnightowl
Guru
texasnightowl ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.texasnightowl ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.texasnightowl ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.texasnightowl ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.texasnightowl ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.texasnightowl ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.texasnightowl ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.texasnightowl ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.texasnightowl ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.texasnightowl ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.texasnightowl ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.