Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Barnes & Noble NOOK > Nook Developer's Corner

Notices

Old 02-09-2011, 01:05 AM   #1
dmg
dmg began at the beginning.

Device: Nook Color
Advice needed...I really want a calendar

I know this is a thread that has been somewhat exhausted, but I truly need some advice on whether to root or not (or load honeycomb with an sd). I haven't seen any threads regarding a great calendar option!

I take my nook color everywhere and the one thing I really WANT is an interactive calendar (meaning I can type in appointments, delete, etc.). Yes, I have a little pocket planner that works just fine but alas...

So is it worth rooting just for the sake of having a calendar and can I even get a good one through market place?

I have no experience with rooting or android but I'm pretty computer savvy and I'm not worried about warranties.

I have no need for angry birds, youtube or google applications.

A better web browsing experience would be appreciated and easier checking email (through gmail or yahoo) would be nice but not necessary.

If there was a keyboard available (free or paid) that would allow me to easily take minutes at meetings then I'm all on-board with rooting. Yes, I'm a fast typist and yes, I'm fairly used to working with virtual keyboards.

So here are my actual questions for advice:
1.) Is there a pretty good calendar available through android market place?
2.) If yes, should I go through all the hullaballoo of rooting just for an interactive calendar?
3.) Are there worthwhile keyboards for taking notes/minutes available through marketplace?
4.) Should I root or go with the SD card honeycomb booting option (even though I'd have buy a class 6 card)?
3.) Does anyone have information on the much lauded barnes and noble upgrade?
I'll appreciate any feedback!
TIA,
Dawn
dmg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2011, 11:24 AM   #2
volwrath
Guru