Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-29-2010, 02:10 AM   #1
drawltx
Junior Member
drawltx began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2010
Device: nook
"Not Responding" after I plug in my nook

I think I have upgraded to nook firmware 1.5 and Calibre 0.7.35 since my last sync. Calibre recognizes my nook when I plug it in, but if i try to do any navigation in Calibre I get a "Not Responding" in the window title bar. If I wait 60-90 seconds Calibre returns to life and performs the action that I had requested. A next request causes the "Not Responding" message to reappear and the software locks up for another 60-90 seconds. I can eventually get a book transferred to the nook, but it takes several minutes. Any suggestions of what I might have going on? Running Win7, 32 bit.

Thanks,
drawltx
drawltx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 12:08 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 33,406
Karma: 10205094
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
check your antivirus settings.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 12-29-2010, 01:56 PM   #3
ChuckG
Junior Member
ChuckG began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2010
Device: Kindle 3
I am seeing the exact same issue, except with a Kindle 3. I maintain my Calibre library on a NAS device, and an earlier thread mentioned that the 'on device' field for each e-book was updated each time the Kindle was attached or an e-book transferred. It seems the network overhead may cause the 'Not Responding' issue as Calibre is updating each e-book.

Does any of this match your configuration?
ChuckG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 12:15 AM   #4
drawltx
Junior Member
drawltx began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2010
Device: nook
My libraries are also on a NAS device. The problem does not happen just when I first connect my nook, though. It persists as long as I have the nook attached. Even if I don't transfer any files to the nook, I still get the "not responding" issue. I can convert formats, I can edit metadata without issue.

With regards to antivirus settings, I'm not sure which ones might be causing issues so I turned the whole thing off. The behavior was unchanged. I turned off the Windows Firewall and the behavior was unchanged.

I don't transfer that many books, so if a solution doesn't present itself, I'll just put up with the long waits.

Thanks,
drawltx
drawltx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 07:05 AM   #5
ChuckG
Junior Member
ChuckG began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2010
Device: Kindle 3
I moved my library to my local machine to eliminate the NAS as the problem. Everything worked fine after doing that, so having the library on the NAS definitely causes this issue.

I saw some posts about having the library in one location and the database in a different location. I might try this next, but it requires setting some environmental variables since it can't be done through the configuration dialog.
ChuckG is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 12-31-2010, 07:11 AM   #6
itimpi
Wizard
itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,452
Karma: 911371
Join Date: Nov 2008
Device: Sony PRS-950, iphone/ipad (Marvin/iBooks/QuickReader)
Look for the portable.bat file in the Resources sub-folder of the Calibre install location. That should show how to do what you want.
itimpi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 02:23 PM   #7
drawltx
Junior Member
drawltx began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2010
Device: nook
Quote:
Originally Posted by itimpi View Post
Look for the portable.bat file in the Resources sub-folder of the Calibre install location. That should show how to do what you want.
itimpi -

Thanks! I took a quick look and it seems to be what I need. I will give it a try this weekend and post my results. I appreciate the direction.

drawltx
drawltx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 09:37 PM   #8
drawltx
Junior Member
drawltx began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2010
Device: nook
Quote:
Originally Posted by drawltx View Post
itimpi -

Thanks! I took a quick look and it seems to be what I need. I will give it a try this weekend and post my results. I appreciate the direction.

drawltx
Took a closer look and it doesn't look like this will support multiple libraries. It looks like calibre looks for the file metadata.db for the library in the library. As I understand it, the batch file is telling it to look in a specific directory (local) for the metadata file. This works as long as there is a single library - but multiple libraries on the network can't share the same metadata.db file in the local directory.

Interestingly, I think my libraries have been on the network for a long time and I am just now seeing the long wait times.

Not sure which direction I will head next. I'm really trying to use my network to store data - music/photos/books - so that I can get to it from whatever device I happen to be hooking in with - so I'm hesitant to move the libraries to a single machine. Thanks for the assistance, though.

Thanks,
Dick
drawltx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 11:30 PM   #9
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 33,406
Karma: 10205094
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
why don't you use the calibre content server
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"The Shameless Promotion and Endless Plug-Your-Novel Thread" Dr. Drib Self-Promotions by Authors and Publishers 3043 09-10-2018 12:00 PM
ATT: Nearly 900K "Connected Devices" Activated (Kindle, Nook) kjk News 2 07-23-2010 11:11 AM
Classic Wi-Fi-Only Nook "Lite" Coming Soon, Nook 2 To Follow abjdiat Barnes & Noble NOOK 12 04-22-2010 11:15 AM
Great Experience with Sony Support....fixed my "not responding" issue DougFNJ Sony Reader 0 11-12-2009 02:42 PM
Installing "Send to Palm" plug-in in Adobe Reader 6? daught Reading and Management 8 06-02-2003 06:15 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:00 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.