Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Sony Reader

Notices

Old 11-04-2007, 08:45 AM   #1
veshman
veshman began at the beginning.

Device: Sony 505
New Reader-User looking for some tips/advice

Hi, I just bought the PRS-505 last week and it seems to be a really great device. But I am pretty new to the Reader world and have been reading about all the different eReaders out there. It seems like this Sony will probably be best for my needs, although the iRex seems very interesting too.

However, I was wondering if you guys could help me with the best way utlize the reader for my purposes.

1. I primarily use a Mac, although I could use VMWare Fusion if I have to (but I prefer staying in the OS X environment).

2. I read a lot of full page PDFs. Is the best way to read these in landscape mode? Or is there a way to convert them that is a little more friendly to the Reader?

3. A lot of the stuff I want to read is derived from the web, for example, maybe some articles from The Atlantic.com or other sources. What would be the best way to get them into a format that would be good for the 505 Reader (PDF, PDF with custom paper size, HTML, cut and paste into a text file, something else?).

4. Managing the books: This is probably the most challenging thing to do on the Sony, since it doesn't seem to recognize folder structure....so I'm not sure what the best way is to keep the different texts organized? Is this something I can do on the Mac, or do I need to use the Sony software? If I have lot of articles about a certain topic, I'd like to keep them together so I can find them easily on the Reader. Would the iRex be a better choice in this regard (it also has the benefit of marking up the documents which would be very useful, but not sure that it's worth an additional $400!).