Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Old 01-11-2009, 10:57 AM   #1
CChamp
CChamp began at the beginning.

Device: Kindle 3
Reason For Calibre?

Hi all,
I am new to ebooks and definitely new to Calibre. My question is, if the Sony 505 will automatically import PDF's, Word Docs, Text, etc, then why would a person need Calibre. Isn't that basically all that it does?

Thanks in advance for the help and insight.
CChamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 11:15 AM   #2
jbicha
jbicha began at the beginning.

Device: Sony Reader PRS-505
calibre supports more formats and installs on Mac or Linux unlike the Sony software. (I even had trouble installing the Sony eBook Library software on some Windows computers). calibre allows you to download news websites to read on your device. Finally, you can edit more of the metadata with calibre. It's abilities are increasing rapidly, partly because it is open source.
jbicha is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 01-11-2009, 11:18 AM   #3
zelda_pinwheel
zeldinha zippy zeldissima
zelda_pinwheel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.zelda_pinwheel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.zelda_pinwheel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.zelda_pinwheel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.zelda_pinwheel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.zelda_pinwheel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.zelda_pinwheel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.zelda_pinwheel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.zelda_pinwheel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.zelda_pinwheel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.zelda_pinwheel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.

Device: eb1150 & is that a nook in her pocket, or she just happy to see you?