Old 11-21-2010, 02:47 PM   #1
ShainaRichmond
Hoping to improve!
ShainaRichmond began at the beginning.

Device: Kindle 3
I'm new to many things...

Hello everyone,

I am new here. Thank you for having me! But wait, there's more:

Short version: I just got the Kindle 3 last month, and I LOVE it. And I also have a few books self-published on Smashwords.

Long version: I just started writing fiction a few months ago. I'm an accountant, and I really don't even like to read that much. Numbers have been my life for years - not words. Anyway, I started writing out of frustration (won't go into it here) and now I can't stop! It's taken over my life, but in a good way. I wish I had started years ago. My husband has NO IDEA I'm doing this. He knows I'm typing a lot, and he knows I'm up to something. But I've managed to hide my work from him with the help of a flash drive (that he doesn't know about) and password protected files. My name isn't really Shaina Richmond either... anyway, I uploaded some stuff on Smashwords and now I'm really addicted to writing. It's such a rush to see that in two days, over a hundred people have already downloaded my free books. The reason I'm hiding it from my husband and everyone else I know is that I'm a Christian, and the books I've been writing are erotic fiction. I really don't feel like I'm doing anything wrong. I have this urge to write, and it's been therapeutic for me. I know my husband would be really angry...

In conclusion: I'm not here to promote my work. I just need to make my voice heard and be connected to other people who can relate. It's hard hiding this from everyone I know. My husband has no idea that the reason I bought us both Kindles is because I wanted to see my own stories on them. Besides that, I've actually become an avid reader. I never realized how much I hated to flip the pages of a book. The Kindle is so easy! If they existed years ago, I would've become a reader much sooner.

Thanks for reading.

Shaina