Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Viewer

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-03-2024, 11:11 PM   #1
fredex
Enthusiast
fredex began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 39
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2014
Device: none
Viewer window appears but remains empty/transparent

Running Calibre on Rocky Linux 9.3. Just upgraded Calibre from 7.06 to 7.10.

Now, when I try to view a book, either from the Calibre book listing, or by directly invoking the ebook reader, the reader starts, the window borders and header are drawn, the header shows the book title, but the window is never populated. it simply shows as a transparent window onto the desktop wallpaper. see attached image.

I tried reverting to a previous version, using the instructions on the Linux download page, but that failed. browsing to the directory given in that command, I don't see any of the recent releases there for download, only considerably older ones. Is there supposed to be a collection of recent versions there?
Code:
https://code.calibre-ebook.com/signatures/old/calibre-7.06.0-x86_64.txz.sha512
Thanks in advance for your assistance!

Fred
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot at 2024-05-03 23-01-38.png
Views:	37
Size:	630.5 KB
ID:	208025  
fredex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2024, 11:13 PM   #2
fredex
Enthusiast
fredex began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 39
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2014
Device: none
Oops. I said "pager window" but of course I mean "ebook viewer window".
fredex is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 05-03-2024, 11:25 PM   #3
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 44,019
Karma: 22669822
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
You are probably using Wayland, switch back to X11.

And old releases of calibre are present at: https://download.calibre-ebook.com/
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2024, 12:06 AM   #4
BetterRed
null operator (he/him)
BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 20,681
Karma: 26966376
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney Australia
Device: none
Quote:
Originally Posted by fredex View Post
Oops. I said "pager window" but of course I mean "ebook viewer window".
Fixed
BetterRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2024, 10:29 AM   #5
fredex
Enthusiast
fredex began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 39
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2014
Device: none
Kovidgoyal:

from: https://unix.stackexchange.com/quest...-is-being-used

Code:
$ loginctl
SESSION  UID USER   SEAT  TTY STATE  IDLE SINCE
      2 1000 fredex seat0 n/a active no        

1 sessions listed.
[fredex@rockybox ~/Desktop]$ loginctl show-session 2  -p Type
Type=x11
[fredex@rockybox ~/Desktop]$
which indicates I am using X11, NOT Wayland.

I also checked almost all the other techniques in that posting and they all agree it is x11, not wayland.

Do you have any further thoughts on this problem?

Thanks for the correct URL for old releases.
fredex is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 05-04-2024, 10:34 AM   #6
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 44,019
Karma: 22669822
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
You want to be sure you are running calibre under x11 run it as:


QT_QPA_PLATFORM=xcb calibre
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2024, 02:17 PM   #7
fredex
Enthusiast
fredex began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 39
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2014
Device: none
Kovid:

Thanks for the further advice!

However:
starting calibre either with or without that prefix works fine, if all I do is work inside Calibre.
starting the ebook viewer from within Calibre (whether the prefix was used when starting Calibre, or not) still doesn't work.
starting the ebook viewer from the command line still does not work, regardless of whether the prefix was used, OR NOT.

running ebook-viewer like this:
Quote:
$ strace --output=ebook-viewer-strace --output-separately /usr/bin/ebook-viewer
QGLXContext: Failed to create dummy context
QRhiGles2: Failed to create temporary context
QRhiGles2: Failed to create context
Failed to create QRhi for QBackingStoreRhiSupport
QRhiGles2: Failed to create temporary context
QRhiGles2: Failed to create context
Failed to create QRhi for QBackingStoreRhiSupport
QQuickWidget: Failed to get a QRhi from the top-level widget's window
QQuickWidget::resizeEvent() no QRhi
QRhiGles2: Failed to create temporary context
QRhiGles2: Failed to create context
Failed to create QRhi for QBackingStoreRhiSupport
QQuickWidget: Failed to get a QRhi from the top-level widget's window
QQuickWidget: Attempted to render scene with no rhi
QQuickWidget: Attempted to render scene with no rhi
gives the above output on the terminal.

the strace output from that same run is attached... Whoops, no it isn't. I keep getting "invalaid file" when trying to upload it. It is 4.1 MB, is that too big to attach?

Fred
fredex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2024, 09:59 PM   #8
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 44,019
Karma: 22669822
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Your GPU drivers are broken. Fix them or turn off hardware acceleration for qt webengine as described in

https://doc.qt.io/qt-6/qtwebengine-debugging.html
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2024, 08:07 AM   #9
fredex
Enthusiast
fredex began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 39
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2014
Device: none
Thanks for the info!

During the interval between my last msg and yours I went back to 7.06.0, which had been working, and I had looked at the updates installed in recent days, and find that kmod-nvidia was updated on May 2. It is possible that I had not used the reader since then.

I MIGHT be able to downgrade to the previous version of that package, and will try it later when I get time (busy day today), and if all else f ails will look at your qt link.

Thanks!

Fred
fredex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2024, 08:23 AM   #10
fredex
Enthusiast
fredex began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 39
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2014
Device: none
Having a few mins, I looked at the URL you give above, and as a result tried entering at the commanline:
Quote:
QTWEBENGINE_CHROMIUM_FLAGS="--disable-gpu" ebook-viewer
which, unfortunately made not a bit of difference.

fredex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2024, 10:50 PM   #11
fredex
Enthusiast
fredex began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 39
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2014
Device: none
Well, I've solved the problem (sorry for the late reply).

The next time I ran a system update the result was Calibre working correctly. So, there must have been some kind of out-of-sync between various system libraries.

Sorry 'bout all the whining!

Fred
fredex is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
edit metadata window, empty comments hobnail Library Management 2 01-31-2022 01:31 PM
Empty the default Find window Magess Sigil 9 08-03-2021 03:56 PM
Empty edit book window Leonatus Editor 4 10-05-2015 12:01 PM
Main window remains minimized kleinbiker Calibre 3 07-11-2010 12:55 PM
Book Designer Empty Window Timoleon Sony Reader 1 03-25-2008 10:06 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:36 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.