![]() |
#31 |
Sigil Developer
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 8,491
Karma: 5703586
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: many
|
Hi DiapDealer,
You might want to try updating to the latest VS C++ Redistributables for VS 2010 on that old vista machine to see if it helps or not. I also think there is an old VS debugger you can run to at least get some sort of backtrace. I will look to see if I can find it on my Windows VM. KevinH |
![]() |
![]() |
#32 |
Grand Sorcerer
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 28,370
Karma: 203720150
Join Date: Jan 2010
Device: Nexus 7, Kindle Fire HD
|
It's sigilgumbo.dll that's faulting. Check your email Kevin.
@Pete6055. If you could verify that it's the same faulting module on Windows 7 (sigilgumbo.dll), by checking the Windows event log after it crashes, that would be great. |
![]() |
Advert | |
|
![]() |
#33 |
Well trained by Cats
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 30,913
Karma: 60358908
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The Central Coast of California
Device: Kobo Libra2,Kobo Aura2v1, K4NT(Fixed: New Bat.), Galaxy Tab A
|
W10 x64
TOC from Headers crashes Split file crashes |
![]() |
![]() |
#34 |
Grand Sorcerer
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 28,370
Karma: 203720150
Join Date: Jan 2010
Device: Nexus 7, Kindle Fire HD
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
#35 |
Connoisseur
![]() Posts: 72
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2012
Device: none
|
Confirmed on Vista; log attached. No doubt, sigilgumbo.dll would also be the problem on Win7
|
![]() |
Advert | |
|
![]() |
#36 |
Well trained by Cats
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 30,913
Karma: 60358908
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The Central Coast of California
Device: Kobo Libra2,Kobo Aura2v1, K4NT(Fixed: New Bat.), Galaxy Tab A
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
#37 |
Grand Sorcerer
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 28,370
Karma: 203720150
Join Date: Jan 2010
Device: Nexus 7, Kindle Fire HD
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
#38 |
Sigil Developer
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 8,491
Karma: 5703586
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: many
|
Hi,
I think I have a possible fix for this error. It may be happening only on Windows because of how QString toUtf8() returns a QByteArray whose address is actually a pointer to the utf8 string of characters on Linux and Mac but not on Windows. So instead I should be using toUtf8().constData() to get a proper pointer for all platforms. Each time I took that incorrect shortcut it was in the gumbo_attribute_set_value and other gumbo routines which maps exactly to the symbol table of where the segfaults are happening. I have pushed the fix and hopefully tomorrow after work DiapDealer will be able to tell us if it was successful. Thanks for your bug reports. Until we get this nailed down please don't use Windows Sigil-0.8.900 for any type of production "just to be safe". Thanks! Kevin |
![]() |
![]() |
#39 |
Wizard
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 4,520
Karma: 121692313
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Heemskerk, NL
Device: PRS-T1, Kobo Touch, Kobo Aura
|
Wow guys, great work! It is always hard to make such changes under the hood. And your bugfixing speed is great as well!
|
![]() |
![]() |
#40 |
Sigil Developer
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 8,491
Karma: 5703586
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: many
|
Hi,
On a related note, is there some place where all of the <mbp:*> style tags are given in a list with something to indicate if they are block or inline types of tags. The right way to handle prettyprint is to actually include these tags (since they will be seen in ebooks) into how prettyprint classifies inline vs structural vs block vs other tags. Any pointer to a reference with a complete list of mbp tags would be appreciated. Thanks, KevinH |
![]() |
![]() |
#41 | |
Grand Sorcerer
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 5,687
Karma: 24031401
Join Date: Dec 2010
Device: Kindle PW2
|
Quote:
BTW, the Kindle Publishing Guidelines only list tags needed to create dictionaries. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
#42 | |
Wizard
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 3,388
Karma: 14190103
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Berlin
Device: Cybook, iRex, PB, Onyx
|
Quote:
http://kaosx.us/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=1147 |
|
![]() |
![]() |
#43 | |
Sigil Developer
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 8,491
Karma: 5703586
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: many
|
Hi,
yes I will look into it. My guess is it simply is an issue with Qt 5.5 and Plasma 5 that Sigil is triggering. eschwartz has set me up with a ssh account and I plan to give things a look this weekend. But right now I am stuck trying to help DiapDealer figure out why gumbo and Windows are not getting along. I use a Linux Mint 17 build with Cinamon and all functions just fine. So it is some interaction with the Desktop that is causing the issue. It may not be Qt 5.5 directly, as other desktops with Qt 5.5 work just fine. It is just Plasma 5 that seems to be an issue. Please tell your packager that Sigil 0.8.X branch is no longer supported (especially on clang) as it had issues with undefined behaviour with "Null" References. So we have had to rework the entire code base. Only Sigil master should be worried about at this point and it has removed lots of dependencies and added a few others. There is a docs/Building on Linux.md that they should follow along with to get master building properly along with a number of python 3.4 site.packages that need to be in place. Thanks for the head's up. I will let you know if I can figure anything out this weekend to help resolve the issue with Plasma 5. KevinH ps. I looked at the Qt bugreports and even QtCreator from 5.5 will not launch on Plasma 5 but will work properly with other Desktops. Qt's response was that Plasma 5 is experimental and to refile the bug report if it still failed on Plasma 4. So will you simply try running the Qt's official QtCreator from Qt under Plasma 5 and report back if it still fails. If so, there is little hope to get Sigil running in Plasma 5 since our gui is much more complicated. Thanks, KevinH Quote:
Last edited by KevinH; 09-25-2015 at 03:49 PM. Reason: Added piece about testing if official QtCreator actually will work under Plasma 5 |
|
![]() |
![]() |
#44 |
Junior Member
![]() Posts: 1
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2015
Device: iPad2
|
Bug
Here is the bug. Win10x64. Sigil 0.8.9x64. Open Sigil-> open epub book -> service -> add cover. After adding edited cover from this epub-book, application will hung.
Solving: Downgrade to 0.87 |
![]() |
![]() |
#45 |
Sigil Developer
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 8,491
Karma: 5703586
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: many
|
Hi,
Already reported and fixed in master. The fix will be int eh next release. Thanks, Kevin |
![]() |
![]() |
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
New Plugin Features in the upcoming Sigil 0.8.900 | KevinH | Plugins | 6 | 09-14-2015 02:48 PM |
Sigil 0.8.0 Released | user_none | Sigil | 126 | 10-11-2014 07:52 PM |
Sigil 0.7.1 Released | user_none | Sigil | 64 | 03-26-2013 10:02 PM |
Sigil 0.4.2 Released | user_none | Sigil | 41 | 10-26-2011 06:03 AM |
Sigil 0.4.1 Released | user_none | Sigil | 50 | 09-01-2011 04:58 PM |