![]() |
#31 | |
Gregg Bell
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 2,266
Karma: 3917598
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Itasca, Illinois
Device: Kindle Touch 7, Sony PRS300, Fire HD8 Tablet
|
Quote:
I looked at the 'how to about installing' link on the download page but didn't really see a solution there for my problem. Was I missing something? (I'm on a Linux (Xubuntu) 64 bit computer.) |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#32 | |
Grand Sorcerer
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 5,680
Karma: 23983815
Join Date: Dec 2010
Device: Kindle PW2
|
Quote:
To test whether a JRE is installed, open a terminal window and enter: Code:
java -version Code:
sudo apt-get install default-jre After the JRE installation you'll need to check the “Use a Java runtime environment” in LibreOffice. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
Advert | |
|
![]() |
#33 | |||
Gregg Bell
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 2,266
Karma: 3917598
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Itasca, Illinois
Device: Kindle Touch 7, Sony PRS300, Fire HD8 Tablet
|
Quote:
Code:
gregory@gregory-GA-A55M-DS2:~/Desktop$ java -version The program 'java' can be found in the following packages: * default-jre * gcj-5-jre-headless * openjdk-8-jre-headless * gcj-4.8-jre-headless * gcj-4.9-jre-headless * openjdk-9-jre-headless Try: sudo apt install <selected package> gregory@gregory-GA-A55M-DS2:~/Desktop$ Quote:
Code:
I tried LO and didn't notice a grammar checker so I went to the Extensions Manager and there it was so I enabled it, but then I got this window (160). I clicked Okay. When I did, the window popped up twice more and I clicked okay twice more. Which brought me back to the Extension Manager (161) and when I clicked "Enable" I just got the same error as previously. Quote:
|
|||
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#34 |
Grand Sorcerer
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 5,680
Karma: 23983815
Join Date: Dec 2010
Device: Kindle PW2
|
It looks like the Java installation worked and LanguageTool should work, too.
Please check the LibreOffice version number (Help->About). If it starts with a 4.x, you have an older version that might not work with LanguageTool. Shameless plug: now that you have Java installed, you also might give my LanguageTool Sigil plugin a try. Download the standalone LanguageTool version, extract it to an easy-to-remember folder and follow the installation instructions in the Plugin thread. (In order to install the plugin, you'll need to know where languagetool-commandline.jar is located as you'll need to select it when the plugin is run for the first time.) |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#35 | |
Gregg Bell
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 2,266
Karma: 3917598
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Itasca, Illinois
Device: Kindle Touch 7, Sony PRS300, Fire HD8 Tablet
|
Quote:
Interestingly, I had the 3.4 oxt extension on this computer's LO but there was no grammar checking. So I overwrited the 3.4 with the 3.5 and then it said I had no Java. I'll check on that other computer again as soon as I can. (That's the computer I really want it on.) This is kind of tanatalizing me because I really really like the Language Tool online checker. It would be so nice to have it as part of LO. P.S. Am I punchy or was that a pun: a plug for your plug-in. Ha ha. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
Advert | |
|
![]() |
#36 | ||||
Grand Sorcerer
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 5,680
Karma: 23983815
Join Date: Dec 2010
Device: Kindle PW2
|
Quote:
If you installed the 3.4 oxt extension on your other machine, too, installing Java and checking “Use a Java runtime environment” should make it work. (You'll also have to restart LibreOffice.) Quote:
You might want to completely uninstall and reinstall LibreOffice and LanguageTool. (If the installation succeeds you should see a LanguageTool menu item in the Tools menu.) Quote:
Quote:
![]() |
||||
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#37 | ||
Gregg Bell
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 2,266
Karma: 3917598
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Itasca, Illinois
Device: Kindle Touch 7, Sony PRS300, Fire HD8 Tablet
|
Quote:
Quote:
Anyway, I'm making this seem whipsawed, where it's hard to tell which computer I'm talking about. I'm going to focus on the computer at work (that's the one where I need it more than the home one) and report back on that restart. Then if I get that one running the Language Tool I'll repeat the process on the home machine. [/QUOTE] Ha ha. Pun away! (Plug away?) |
||
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#38 |
Gregg Bell
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 2,266
Karma: 3917598
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Itasca, Illinois
Device: Kindle Touch 7, Sony PRS300, Fire HD8 Tablet
|
No luck, Doitsu, on the restart. Interestingly, this computer did not have the Language Tool in the Tools dropdown menu. <sigh>
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#39 | |
Grand Sorcerer
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 5,680
Karma: 23983815
Join Date: Dec 2010
Device: Kindle PW2
|
Quote:
This should display the LanguageTool Java GUI. If you get Java errors, you'll have to open a terminal window, change to the folder that you unpacked languagetool to and enter the following command: Code:
java -jar languagetool.jar |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#40 |
Imperfect Perfectionist
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 625
Karma: 863576
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Řlstykke, Denmark
Device: none
|
Just a thought - I had the same problem on Windows 10 (LO 5.2 64 bit).
I have both java 64 bit and 32 bit installed (with the 64-bit version as default), and got the same error as Greg when updating LanguageTool. Then I switched the javaversion used by LO to 32-bit, and the installation proces went smoothly through. No guarantees, though, but worth a try? Regards, Kim Last edited by elibrarian; 10-04-2016 at 11:36 AM. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#41 | |
Gregg Bell
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 2,266
Karma: 3917598
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Itasca, Illinois
Device: Kindle Touch 7, Sony PRS300, Fire HD8 Tablet
|
Quote:
Anyway, I extracted that and (and remember I'm on Xubuntu) and that led to 177 (the Org folder) and clicked on that and that led to Language Tool folder (178) and clicked on that and that led to the gui folder (179) and clicked on that and it led to a lot of files (180). Did I do something wrong? |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#42 | |
Gregg Bell
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 2,266
Karma: 3917598
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Itasca, Illinois
Device: Kindle Touch 7, Sony PRS300, Fire HD8 Tablet
|
Quote:
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#43 | |
Imperfect Perfectionist
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 625
Karma: 863576
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Řlstykke, Denmark
Device: none
|
Quote:
The 32-bit and the 64-bit versions of java are two different installs (but co-exists happily on the same computer, once installed). When both are installed, you can choose which flavour to use in LibreOffice's setup. I think most, if not all, of LOs javabased plugins are 32-bit. Regards, Kim |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#44 | |
Grand Sorcerer
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 5,680
Karma: 23983815
Join Date: Dec 2010
Device: Kindle PW2
|
Quote:
@Gregg Bell: Try the stand-alone LanguageTool version. If it works, ask in an Ubuntu/LibreOffice forum for help. Also enter the following command: Code:
sudo apt-get install libreoffice-java |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#45 |
null operator (he/him)
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 21,621
Karma: 29710338
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney Australia
Device: none
|
FWIW
Java 4 Windows 32bit - http://filehippo.com/download_jre/32/ Java 4 Windows 64bit - http://filehippo.com/download_jre/64/ Finding anything at Oracle requires a Delphian Visa Card ![]() BR |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Tools and methodology for easier proof-reading | Iznogood | Workshop | 23 | 12-05-2016 10:43 AM |
ABBYY FineReader - Proof reading tips? | PieOPah | Workshop | 23 | 03-02-2012 01:03 AM |
Proof reading: What do you do when you find a clear misprint? | graycyn | Workshop | 4 | 07-20-2011 01:13 PM |
Calibre Book Reader for Proof Reading/Editing | Agama | Calibre | 16 | 05-10-2011 05:08 PM |
Proof Reading Service | genepool | General Discussions | 1 | 03-16-2011 09:02 AM |