![]() |
#1 | |
Junior Member
![]() Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2013
Device: Kindle PaperWhite
|
Can't Access Kindle
When I try to connect my Linux machine (Arch) to my Kindle Paperwhite (1st Generation), I receive errors like this one:
Quote:
Does anyone have any suggestions? |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#2 |
creator of calibre
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 45,170
Karma: 27110894
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
|
list the files on your kindle
find /media/Kindle (or whatever) then delete the one that has bogus bytes in its filename. And if you cannot find the file by inspecting the list, use this one-liner Code:
calibre-debug -c "from calibre import walk; files = [f.decode('utf-8', 'replace') for f in walk(b'/media/Kindle')]; print b'\n'.join(f.encode('utf-8') for f in files if u'\ufffd' in f)" |
![]() |
![]() |
Advert | |
|
![]() |
#3 |
Junior Member
![]() Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2013
Device: Kindle PaperWhite
|
I ran this command, tried to remove the related files, and have mucked things up so that Calibre won't start. (Oh no!)
When I run calibre-debug -g, it says: calibre 1.27 isfrozen: False is64bit: False Linux-3.13.5-1-ARCH-i686-with-glibc2.0 Linux ('32bit', 'ELF') ('Linux', '3.13.5-1-ARCH', '#1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Feb 23 00:10:07 CET 2014') Python 2.7.6 Linux: ('', '', '') |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#4 |
Junior Member
![]() Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2013
Device: Kindle PaperWhite
|
OK, I take it back. I restarted my laptop, ran Calibre (and it worked, phew!), mounted my Kindle, and now everything seems to be in working order.
One last concern: all of the files with "bad bytes" were from Amazon's Send-to-Kindle feature. Is there any way I can prevent this from happening in the future, if I continue to use the service? |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#5 |
creator of calibre
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 45,170
Karma: 27110894
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
|
Make sure your kindle is mounted with whatever the correct codepage is for its FAT32 filesystem. I'm afraid the details for how to do that depend on your linux distro.
|
![]() |
![]() |
Advert | |
|
![]() |
Tags |
calibre, error, kindle, paperwhite |
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
The New Yorker All Access for Kindle | bokolobs | Amazon Kindle | 0 | 05-05-2013 03:06 PM |
Access my library with Kindle wi-fi???? | Saxguy | Library Management | 10 | 10-15-2011 12:42 AM |
Cant access facebook from kindle 3 | granturissimus | Amazon Kindle | 7 | 10-01-2011 10:10 PM |
kindle/library access | winding trail | General Discussions | 14 | 07-29-2011 08:27 AM |
Kobo Firmware Access and Early Access Program | PeterT | Kobo Reader | 115 | 08-09-2010 08:06 PM |