![]() |
#1 |
Wizard
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 2,306
Karma: 13057279
Join Date: Jul 2012
Device: Kobo Forma, Nook
|
Bug: Spell Check Language
The Problem
If you double click on a word in the Spell Check window, it jumps to all instances of that word, completely ignoring Language. Example Code: Code:
<p>This is an example Spanish sentence: <span xml:lang="es">No señora, no estoy borracho</span>.</p> <p>This is an example English sentence: <span xml:lang="en">No Ma’am, I’m not drunk</span>.</p> Steps to Reproduce 1. Open the Spell Check dialog window. 2. Double click on the Spanish "No". The cursor will highlight "No señora". Double click again, the cursor will highlight "No Ma’am". Expected Functionality The Spanish "No" should only jump to "No señora", and the English "No" should only jump to "No Ma’am". |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#2 |
creator of calibre
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 45,199
Karma: 27110894
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
|
It's not really a bug, more a performance optimization, making jumping to words language aware means the the entire document has to be parsed to jump to the word -- which can be slow for large documents and is a price everyone has to pay all the time, for a relatively rare use case.
If you simply click replace, you will find that only the Spanish version is replaced, not the English one, so this only affect jumping to words not actual replacing. |
![]() |
![]() |
Advert | |
|
![]() |
#3 |
creator of calibre
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 45,199
Karma: 27110894
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
|
On second thoughts, this can actually be made performant by using the syntax highlighting cache that the editor already maintains. https://github.com/kovidgoyal/calibr...acfda92306003f
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#4 | ||
Wizard
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 2,306
Karma: 13057279
Join Date: Jul 2012
Device: Kobo Forma, Nook
|
Quote:
![]() Quote:
![]() This is one of those things I didn't know I needed until I worked on a large book with multiple languages properly marked using XML (English/Latin/French/German/Greek). This should make it much more helpful when words are correct in one language, but wrong in another. Now, to just get similar functionality added to Sigil's Spell Checker! Last edited by Tex2002ans; 05-24-2016 at 02:17 AM. |
||
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#5 |
creator of calibre
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 45,199
Karma: 27110894
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
|
IIRC Sigil does not support multi-langauge spell checking, at all.
|
![]() |
![]() |
Advert | |
|
![]() |
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Spell Check not working at all | shadowThief | Editor | 6 | 06-12-2015 09:04 AM |
Spell Check Undo | BetterRed | Editor | 2 | 06-15-2014 12:35 AM |
Spell Check Suggestion | Tex2002ans | Sigil | 19 | 01-10-2013 08:45 PM |
Spell Check | GeckoFriend | Sigil | 5 | 06-15-2012 03:09 PM |
how to use spell check | richreads | Sigil | 2 | 01-24-2012 10:13 PM |