View Single Post
Old 07-12-2023, 07:32 AM   #2
JSWolf
Resident Curmudgeon
JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
JSWolf's Avatar
 
Posts: 78,945
Karma: 144284074
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Roslindale, Massachusetts
Device: Kobo Libra 2, Kobo Aura H2O, PRS-650, PRS-T1, nook STR, PW3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anyssia View Post
Hi!

I'm having some trouble resizing automated covers.

When I add an epub file from AO3 to Calibre, it automatically creates a cover using the metadata info, which is great.

However, I find the size of the book details preview too small.
Spoiler:
I'd like to increase the font size or %. But I've tried poking at the settings and cannot seem to find where to go to resize the covers created by calibre when uploading the epub.

I tried editing the Preferences - Look & Feel - Book details - Text styling css, and there correcting the body titlepage to
body.fff_titlepage {
font-size: 2.4vmax;
margin: 2vmax;
color: red;
}

(used the red attribute to see if it worked), but it doesn't change anything.

I also tried the same with
.calibre-cover {
font-size: 2em;
color:green;
still no effect.

I also poked at the
img {
height:200%;
width: 200%;
}
attribute without effect either.

Then I moved to Output/Common options, also had a look at the "tweak" setting, ...

As far as I understand from the net, Calibre automatically created the cover from the metadata info, which is great. Any idea how to edit the look of that cover Calibre auto-creates?


EDIT: Just realized that it might be an effect of the Generate Cover plugin and not actually Calibre...

I replied to the generate cover thread to this, but I can't seem to find how to delete a thread I created ? O.o

Thank you
Ateana
Here is the cover code I use that works very well. I also use the same code for displaying a full screen titlepage image.

Here is the HTML code for the cover.
Code:
<?xml version='1.0' encoding='utf-8'?>
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xml:lang="en">
<head>
<title>Doomsday Match</title>
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="../Styles/style0001.css"/>
</head>
<body>
<div class="cover">
<img alt="" class="cover" src="../Images/cover00221.jpeg"/>
</div>
</body>
</html>
Here is the CSS code for the cover.
Code:
body {
  widows: 1;
  orphans: 1;
  margin-top: 0;
  margin-right: 0;
  margin-bottom: 0;
  margin-left: 0;
  text-align: justify;
}
.cover {
  text-align: center;
  text-indent: 0;
  height: 100%;
}

Last edited by JSWolf; 07-12-2023 at 07:35 AM.
JSWolf is offline   Reply With Quote