Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-19-2010, 05:27 PM   #1
didiyy
Member
didiyy began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 18
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2010
Device: PRS600
Python error!

Could someone explain (very simply) why I have suddenly had the following 2 error messages on each successive day when trying to access Calibre.

The first was:

"Python function terminated unexpectedly
Bad magic numer in C:\Program Files (x86) Calibre2\Lib\site-packages\calibre\devices\telcast\driver.pyo (Error Code:1)"

This morning it was:

"Python function terminated unexpectedly
Bad magic numer in C:\Program Files (x86) Calibre2\xml\sax\saxutils.pyr (Error Code:1)

On both occasions I have uninstalled Calibre and reinstalled, but would like to understand why this problem has occurred and how I can resolve it.


Thank you
Didiyy
didiyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 05:34 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,935
Karma: 5036099
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
it indicates files in your calibre installation are being corrupted. The most likely culprit is disk failure.
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 05:46 PM   #3
didiyy
Member
didiyy began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 18
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2010
Device: PRS600
How do I resolve it, my computer is only 4 months old!

Thanks
didiyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 06:37 PM   #4
Manichean
Wizard
Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!
 
Manichean's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,130
Karma: 80446
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Device: Cybook Gen3
Quote:
Originally Posted by didiyy View Post
How do I resolve it, my computer is only 4 months old!

Thanks
The obvious and most important first step is to create a backup, if you don't have a current one. Do this first thing and as soon as possible, if your drive really is failing, you could lose your data. Then, either try to diagnose whether the drive really is failing and contact your retailer if it is or just talk to your retailer directly- they should have some sort of support for cases like these.
Manichean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 07:02 PM   #5
didiyy
Member
didiyy began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 18
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2010
Device: PRS600
Thank you, I'll back up and see if I can get to the bottom of the problem.
didiyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 04:10 AM   #6
chaley
"chaley", not "charley"
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 5,441
Karma: 831552
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Device: Many android devices
Are you running windows? If so, *after you make the backup*, you can use the disk error checker to get some information. Right-click on the drive, choose properties, tools, check drive for errors. Check the box 'scan for and attempt recovery of bad sectors'. Windows should complain about the drive being in use, and ask you if you want to do the check at the next boot. Say yes, and reboot your machine.
chaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 02:05 AM   #7
didiyy
Member
didiyy began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 18
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2010
Device: PRS600
Thank you, yes I have already done that and everything is fine again - Thank Heavens. It's always scarey when you have little technical knowledge and things go wrong. I love Calibre, it is so easy to use and I am discovering more things as I go.

Thank you for your help
didiyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ERROR: Error: Error communicating with device JWood Calibre 10 04-20-2010 07:28 PM
Installing Python? luqmaninbmore PocketBook 2 11-20-2009 01:41 AM
Python 2.5 and Calibre FizzyWater Calibre 1 03-27-2009 02:15 AM
Python 2.5 or 2.6? itimpi Calibre 5 01-19-2009 12:48 PM
Python Error with Plucker Horse Reading and Management 1 04-07-2003 01:57 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:22 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.