Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-16-2010, 06:51 PM   #1
edbro
Warthog Driver
edbro is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.edbro is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.edbro is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.edbro is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.edbro is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.edbro is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.edbro is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.edbro is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.edbro is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.edbro is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.edbro is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.
 
edbro's Avatar
 
Posts: 632
Karma: 4911
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Grapevine, TX
Device: iPad4
Multi-Level TOC

I have most of my books in Filtered HTML. They have embedded TOCs structured as:
Heading 1a
Heading 2a
Heading 1b
Heading 2b

The TOCs in the html docs look proper but when Calibre converts to epub I end up with something like this:
Heading 1a
Heading 1b
Heading 1c
Heading 2a
Heading 2b
etc.

How do I get my epub toc to follow the proper level format of the source?

Edit: I guess indenting doesn't save in these messages so let me clarify. I want:
level 1
level 2
level 2
Level 1
level 2

Last edited by edbro; 09-16-2010 at 06:54 PM.
edbro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 07:26 PM   #2
ldolse
Wizard
ldolse is an accomplished Snipe hunter.ldolse is an accomplished Snipe hunter.ldolse is an accomplished Snipe hunter.ldolse is an accomplished Snipe hunter.ldolse is an accomplished Snipe hunter.ldolse is an accomplished Snipe hunter.ldolse is an accomplished Snipe hunter.ldolse is an accomplished Snipe hunter.ldolse is an accomplished Snipe hunter.ldolse is an accomplished Snipe hunter.ldolse is an accomplished Snipe hunter.
 
Posts: 1,337
Karma: 123455
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Malaysia
Device: PRS-650, iPhone
The simplest way is to open your file in Sigil after you've used Calibre to resave it. Sigil will automatically replace the TOC with it's own just by doing this, and Sigil follows the behavior you're asking for, assuming you're using h1/h2 tags for these levels.
ldolse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 07:30 PM   #3
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,449
Karma: 5383257
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
http://calibre-ebook.com/user_manual...le-of-contents
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 07:52 PM   #4
edbro
Warthog Driver
edbro is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.edbro is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.edbro is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.edbro is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.edbro is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.edbro is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.edbro is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.edbro is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.edbro is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.edbro is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.edbro is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.
 
edbro's Avatar
 
Posts: 632
Karma: 4911
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Grapevine, TX
Device: iPad4
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
Yes, I read that. I could set them all manually but the help says
Quote:
"When the input document has a Table of Contents in its metadata, calibre will just use that.
I was hoping it would honor the embedded TOC's structure.
edbro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 07:54 PM   #5
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,449
Karma: 5383257
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
An embedded toc is not a metadata toc. You need touse the level TOC Xpath expressions to tell calibre how to interpret an embedded TOC
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multi Level Headers AJ Starr Astak EZReader 14 01-15-2010 04:26 PM
Multi level TOC PAQUITO Bookeen 1 12-23-2009 04:57 AM
Multi-level Bookmark Problem manifestor HanLin eBook 0 06-08-2009 01:38 PM
ePub, 505 and multi-level ToC JSWolf Calibre 4 06-04-2009 03:12 PM
Multi-level table of contents murraypaul Calibre 6 09-23-2008 09:49 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:17 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.