Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Amazon Kindle

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-03-2010, 03:56 PM   #1
nickinev
Enthusiast
nickinev is a jewel in the roughnickinev is a jewel in the roughnickinev is a jewel in the roughnickinev is a jewel in the roughnickinev is a jewel in the roughnickinev is a jewel in the roughnickinev is a jewel in the roughnickinev is a jewel in the roughnickinev is a jewel in the roughnickinev is a jewel in the roughnickinev is a jewel in the rough
 
Posts: 44
Karma: 7248
Join Date: Jun 2010
Device: iPhone 4, iPad 1, K4, and Kindle Fire
Calibre2OPDS, Dropbox and Kindle

I got this to work on my kindle! I'm so happy! Now I can access my library anytime, anywhere!

For anyone who doesn't know what I'm talking about... go here...

http://dearauthor.com/wordpress/2010...-opds-dropbox/

Nicole
nickinev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 04:15 PM   #2
loveangel
Banned
loveangel began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 137
Karma: 30
Join Date: Feb 2010
Device: kindle
thanks for the link, i m going to check it
loveangel is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Advertisement
Old 09-05-2010, 04:07 AM   #3
Viseguy
Just a kid from Bklyn
Viseguy has a spectacular aura aboutViseguy has a spectacular aura aboutViseguy has a spectacular aura aboutViseguy has a spectacular aura aboutViseguy has a spectacular aura aboutViseguy has a spectacular aura aboutViseguy has a spectacular aura aboutViseguy has a spectacular aura aboutViseguy has a spectacular aura aboutViseguy has a spectacular aura aboutViseguy has a spectacular aura about
 
Viseguy's Avatar
 
Posts: 135
Karma: 4448
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NYC
Device: Kindle 3 Wi-Fi; Samsung Galaxy Tab 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickinev View Post
I got this to work on my kindle! I'm so happy! Now I can access my library anytime, anywhere!

For anyone who doesn't know what I'm talking about... go here...

http://dearauthor.com/wordpress/2010...-opds-dropbox/

Nicole
Glad you were able to get it running. I can't get past the install of Calibre2OPDS. Half of the instructions on the web page you cite are crossed out, but it's not clear what one is supposed to do instead. Even the crossed-out instructions don't correspond to what I'm seeing in my installation folder. "calibre2opds.bat"? "\bin" folder? Neither of those are there. This is what I have in my installation directory:
Quote:
Directory of F:\Calibre2Opds

09/05/2010 01:52 AM <DIR> .
09/05/2010 01:52 AM <DIR> ..
09/05/2010 01:52 AM <DIR> Uninstaller
05/12/2010 08:18 AM 1,170 calibre2opds-text-icon_64.png
05/12/2010 08:18 AM 3,262 uninstall-icon_32.ico
07/15/2010 09:22 AM 47 rungui.cmd
07/23/2010 05:34 AM 232,354 junit-4.7.jar
05/12/2010 08:18 AM 35,147 licence.txt
07/23/2010 05:34 AM 58,957 DataModel-2.3-SNAPSHOT.jar
05/12/2010 08:18 AM 38,366 calibre2opds-icon_192.png
07/23/2010 05:34 AM 680,475 OpdsOutput-2.3-SNAPSHOT.jar
07/15/2010 09:22 AM 95 rungui.sh
07/23/2010 05:34 AM 19,316 Tools-2.2-SNAPSHOT.jar
05/12/2010 08:18 AM 8,887 uninstall-icon_64.png
05/12/2010 08:18 AM 145,136 calibre2opds-icon.png
05/12/2010 08:18 AM 3,262 calibre2opds-icon-small_32.ico
07/23/2010 05:21 AM 9,935 readme.txt
07/23/2010 05:34 AM 153,115 jdom-1.1.jar
07/23/2010 05:34 AM 358,085 log4j-1.2.12.jar
05/12/2010 08:18 AM 3,262 calibre2opds-text-icon.ico
07/23/2010 05:19 AM 15,677 release.txt
07/15/2010 09:22 AM 99 run.sh
05/12/2010 08:18 AM 7,447 calibre2opds-icon_64.png
07/23/2010 05:34 AM 2,386,512 sqlite-jdbc-3.6.17.1.jar
09/05/2010 02:41 AM 4,049 .installationinformation
09/05/2010 03:03 AM 45 run.cmd
23 File(s) 4,164,700 bytes
3 Dir(s) 24,824,676,352 bytes free
When I issue RUN.CMD at the command prompt, I get this series of error messages:

Quote:
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.ExceptionInInitializerError
at Main.main(Main.java:48)
Caused by: java.lang.NullPointerException
at com.gmail.dpierron.calibre.configuration.StanzaCon figuration.load(Sta
nzaConfiguration.java:279)
at com.gmail.dpierron.calibre.configuration.StanzaCon figuration.tryAndLo
adProperties(StanzaConfiguration.java:261)
at com.gmail.dpierron.calibre.configuration.StanzaCon figuration.<init>(S
tanzaConfiguration.java:142)
at com.gmail.dpierron.calibre.configuration.StanzaCon figuration.<clinit>
(StanzaConfiguration.java:23)
... 1 more
What to do?

Last edited by Viseguy; 09-05-2010 at 04:09 AM.
Viseguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 09:45 AM   #4
Rachel
Zealot
Rachel has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.Rachel has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.Rachel has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.
 
Posts: 101
Karma: 260
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Suffolk, England
Device: sony prs505, kindle, ithing
The instructions were originally written prior to OPDS version 2.3 which introduced the GUI. Bypass steps 6 & 7 and the first part of step 8. You can then pick up again after this at the checking stage of step 8.

Good luck with sorting it out. The instructions do work, I set up my iphone, but I hadn't thought about the kindle (which I am still waiting for).

I still would like to know how to write a plug in for Calibre that will automatically update the catalogue when books are added.
Rachel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 12:03 PM   #5
nickinev
Enthusiast
nickinev is a jewel in the roughnickinev is a jewel in the roughnickinev is a jewel in the roughnickinev is a jewel in the roughnickinev is a jewel in the roughnickinev is a jewel in the roughnickinev is a jewel in the roughnickinev is a jewel in the roughnickinev is a jewel in the roughnickinev is a jewel in the roughnickinev is a jewel in the rough
 
Posts: 44
Karma: 7248
Join Date: Jun 2010
Device: iPhone 4, iPad 1, K4, and Kindle Fire
Yes, they could be clearer. I spent a day messing around with it until i finally got it to work. (I was determined!!) That would be nice if calibre could automatically update the catalog. It would save time, but thankfully it doesn't take too long to update - just a minute or so.

Nicole
nickinev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 01:38 PM   #6
Viseguy
Just a kid from Bklyn
Viseguy has a spectacular aura aboutViseguy has a spectacular aura aboutViseguy has a spectacular aura aboutViseguy has a spectacular aura aboutViseguy has a spectacular aura aboutViseguy has a spectacular aura aboutViseguy has a spectacular aura aboutViseguy has a spectacular aura aboutViseguy has a spectacular aura aboutViseguy has a spectacular aura aboutViseguy has a spectacular aura about
 
Viseguy's Avatar
 
Posts: 135
Karma: 4448
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NYC
Device: Kindle 3 Wi-Fi; Samsung Galaxy Tab 7
The problem is that I can't get Calibre2Opds to start up. It does not place an icon in my Start menu or on the Desktop. When I run RUNGUI.CMD from the command prompt, nothing happens. When I run RUN.CMD from the command prompt, I get the error messages above. I am running Windows XP Pro SP3 with automatic updates. Java version 1.6.0_19.

I'm at a loss.
Viseguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 02:18 PM   #7
nickinev
Enthusiast
nickinev is a jewel in the roughnickinev is a jewel in the roughnickinev is a jewel in the roughnickinev is a jewel in the roughnickinev is a jewel in the roughnickinev is a jewel in the roughnickinev is a jewel in the roughnickinev is a jewel in the roughnickinev is a jewel in the roughnickinev is a jewel in the roughnickinev is a jewel in the rough
 
Posts: 44
Karma: 7248
Join Date: Jun 2010
Device: iPhone 4, iPad 1, K4, and Kindle Fire
I have to go in the calibre2opds folder and then click on OpdsOutput-2.3-snapshot to get it to work. Something is not quite right with new version. I think there is a link somewhere for the old version, but i haven't downloaded it. Hope this helps!

Nicole
nickinev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 08:10 PM   #8
d47
Member
d47 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 10
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2010
Device: kindle
when you download a book using this method, and already have it on your kindle, does it replace it or add it a second time?
d47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2010, 02:54 AM   #9
d47
Member
d47 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 10
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2010
Device: kindle
to answer my own question for others - it adds it as a new book. so this method won't work as a way for me to try to view my computer files and manually sync unless i repeated delete the older file.
d47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 03:12 AM   #10
diokdin
Groupie
diokdin began at the beginning.
 
diokdin's Avatar
 
Posts: 187
Karma: 46
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: TN, US
Device: iPhone 4, Astak EZ Pocket Pro, Kindle 3 3G
Saw that link too, but it seems kinda complicated to do....at least for me. Tech challenge.
diokdin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Dropbox with Kindle wifi Leep Amazon Kindle 58 12-17-2011 08:31 AM
DropBox or SugarSync with Calibre2OPDS jjansen Related Tools 25 07-07-2011 12:36 PM
calibre2opds Help Marcy Calibre 7 07-22-2010 01:59 AM
Troubleshooting Kindle DX and Dropbox bchowdhr Amazon Kindle 40 07-15-2010 05:27 PM
Dropbox + Pyndexer + Kindle 2i 2.5.2 = mobile Bibliothek! katzenstreik Amazon Kindle 2 06-09-2010 11:22 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:18 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.