Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-25-2010, 03:00 AM   #1
rubyv
Member
rubyv began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 10
Karma: 10
Join Date: May 2010
Device: Nook
Calibre, calibre2opds,and NOOK - best way to keep catalog up to date?

I've just softrooted my nook, and can't wait to access my catalog via trook. I created my catalog today, but have already added over a dozen new books. What is the best way to keep the catalog up to date? Will I have to sideload the catalog every time it gets updated? Is there anyway to update the catalog wirelessly, or will I have to run calibre2opds and download via usb?

Thanks!
rubyv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 03:29 AM   #2
Dopedangel
Wizard
Dopedangel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Dopedangel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Dopedangel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Dopedangel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Dopedangel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Dopedangel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Dopedangel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Dopedangel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Dopedangel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Dopedangel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Dopedangel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Dopedangel's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,120
Karma: 8671315
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Singapore
Device: Coolreader(Nexus 5)\Coolreader(Nook Touch)
Quote:
Originally Posted by rubyv View Post
I've just softrooted my nook, and can't wait to access my catalog via trook. I created my catalog today, but have already added over a dozen new books. What is the best way to keep the catalog up to date? Will I have to sideload the catalog every time it gets updated? Is there anyway to update the catalog wirelessly, or will I have to run calibre2opds and download via usb?

Thanks!
I think you need to use dropbox
http://www.mobileread.com/forums/sho...hlight=dropbox

if you don't have a dropbox account please use my referral to make a free one
we both will get 250mb extra
https://www.dropbox.com/referrals/NTQ5MjIwMjU5
Dopedangel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 10:05 AM   #3
rubyv
Member
rubyv began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 10
Karma: 10
Join Date: May 2010
Device: Nook
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dopedangel View Post
I think you need to use dropbox
http://www.mobileread.com/forums/sho...hlight=dropbox

if you don't have a dropbox account please use my referral to make a free one
we both will get 250mb extra
https://www.dropbox.com/referrals/NTQ5MjIwMjU5
I've got my calibre working with dropbox, thanks.

I guess what I'm trying to figure out is do I need to manually update the catalog through calibre2opds every time I add something, or is there a way to automate the system? I am using the latest version, that creates catalogs directly to the nook for use with trook.
rubyv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 11:35 AM   #4
itimpi
Wizard
itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,094
Karma: 780247
Join Date: Nov 2008
Device: Sony PRS-950, iphone/ipad (Marvin/iBooks/QuickReader)
Calibre2opds needs to be run to get the catalogs regenerated/updated. How frequently you run it is up to you.
itimpi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 12:25 PM   #5
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,320
Karma: 5382313
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Just a note, that it should be easy to add a plugin to calibre that will run calibre2opds in the back ground every time a book is added. It wont run every time you change metadata, but that should be close enough.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 03:33 PM   #6
rubyv
Member
rubyv began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 10
Karma: 10
Join Date: May 2010
Device: Nook
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
Just a note, that it should be easy to add a plugin to calibre that will run calibre2opds in the back ground every time a book is added. It wont run every time you change metadata, but that should be close enough.
Thanks! Today's new skill - learning to write plugins.
rubyv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 11:14 AM   #7
Jzz
Member
Jzz began at the beginning.
 
Jzz's Avatar
 
Posts: 20
Karma: 12
Join Date: Jan 2010
Device: Kindle2
a little late maybe, but I'm using a task scheduler (my windows task scheduler isn't working so I found a free version of System Scheduler, but Windows' should work). I set it to run 3 times a day -- fine for my needs.
Jzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 11:42 AM   #8
dpierron
calibre2opds guru
dpierron shines like a glazed doughnut.dpierron shines like a glazed doughnut.dpierron shines like a glazed doughnut.dpierron shines like a glazed doughnut.dpierron shines like a glazed doughnut.dpierron shines like a glazed doughnut.dpierron shines like a glazed doughnut.dpierron shines like a glazed doughnut.dpierron shines like a glazed doughnut.dpierron shines like a glazed doughnut.dpierron shines like a glazed doughnut.
 
dpierron's Avatar
 
Posts: 532
Karma: 8792
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Metz, France
Device: iPhone, iPad, PRS-650
And on a Mac with Lingon (and probably on Linux too) you can create a CRON schedule which runs calibre2opds (command line version) each time the metadata.db is modified...
dpierron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 01:16 AM   #9
Dopedangel
Wizard
Dopedangel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Dopedangel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Dopedangel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Dopedangel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Dopedangel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Dopedangel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Dopedangel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Dopedangel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Dopedangel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Dopedangel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Dopedangel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Dopedangel's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,120
Karma: 8671315
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Singapore
Device: Coolreader(Nexus 5)\Coolreader(Nook Touch)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpierron View Post
And on a Mac with Lingon (and probably on Linux too) you can create a CRON schedule which runs calibre2opds (command line version) each time the metadata.db is modified...

for bringing up this thread again I got 2 dropbox referrals out of it

Last edited by Dopedangel; 09-02-2010 at 10:41 PM.
Dopedangel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[The Older version] Calibre2opds V2 dpierron Related Tools 537 04-06-2012 10:43 AM
[Old Thread] Can you print out your Calibre catalog? chilady1 Library Management 19 08-05-2011 02:06 AM
Problem with Catalog in Calibre clockmaker Library Management 1 10-05-2010 07:27 AM
Calibre + Calibre2opds + Sugarsync + Stanza Ipad mob Calibre 1 10-04-2010 12:52 AM
Calibre2opds and Calibre content server -> Aldiko Backdraft Calibre 19 09-12-2010 02:22 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:53 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.