Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-23-2010, 05:33 AM   #1
Hemant
Junior Member
Hemant began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2010
Device: none
Failed to fetch news

I installed 0.7.15 version in windows xp. when i tried to fetch news i am getting following error.

URLError(error(10060, 'A connection attempt failed because the connected party did not properly respond after a period of time, or established connection failed because connected host has failed to respond'),)

I tried 3-4 news sources and get same error each time.

Can some one help me in this?

Thanks
Hemant
Hemant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 11:30 AM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,397
Karma: 4961459
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
you have network problems, most probably incorrect proxy settings.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Old 08-24-2010, 02:23 AM   #3
Hemant
Junior Member
Hemant began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2010
Device: none
Thanks Kovid for quick reply.

I checked IE tools->Internet Options->Connections->LAN settings. There is no proxy configured there. I am able to browse net.

What to do?

Thanks
Hemant
Hemant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 07:29 AM   #4
DoctorOhh
US Navy, Retired
DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DoctorOhh's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,773
Karma: 12516053
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Device: Nexus 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hemant View Post
Thanks Kovid for quick reply.

I checked IE tools->Internet Options->Connections->LAN settings. There is no proxy configured there. I am able to browse net.
I'm curious, what are you using to browse the net? I've seen Firefox work where IE fails.
DoctorOhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 02:23 AM   #5
Hemant
Junior Member
Hemant began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2010
Device: none
@dwanthny

I am using chrome.
Hemant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 02:32 AM   #6
DoctorOhh
US Navy, Retired
DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DoctorOhh's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,773
Karma: 12516053
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Device: Nexus 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hemant View Post
I am using chrome.
Does IE surf the net fine?
DoctorOhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 02:41 AM   #7
Hemant
Junior Member
Hemant began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2010
Device: none
I have done following two things:

1. In windows security center selected windows firewall and and choose off(not recommended) and after that tried to fetch news but got same error.

2. I took a RSS source and added in google reader to test it. I was able to see feed in google reader but when i added same RSS source to "add a custom news source" and try to fetch news from this custom source I got same error.

Any help pls?

Thanks
Hemant
Hemant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 02:42 AM   #8
Hemant
Junior Member
Hemant began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2010
Device: none
@dwanthny

Yes, I am able to surf net from IE, Firefox and chrome.
Hemant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 02:50 AM   #9
DoctorOhh
US Navy, Retired
DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DoctorOhh's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,773
Karma: 12516053
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Device: Nexus 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hemant View Post
1. In windows security center selected windows firewall and and choose off(not recommended) and after that tried to fetch news but got same error.
Now that you tried it put your firewall back on.

I have heard of Antivirus or Antispam software mucking things up. Also if you use a third party firewall like Zone Alarm things might need to be opened for calibre to work. The possibility exists you need to add exceptions for calibre in whatever software is blocking calibre from running.

Have you ever run the fetch news successfully?
DoctorOhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 04:19 AM   #10
Hemant
Junior Member
Hemant began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2010
Device: none
@dwanthny

I tried selecting firewall on and adding calibre in exception but failed.

I was never able to fetch news.
Hemant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 09:22 AM   #11
Starson17
Wizard
Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.
 
Posts: 4,004
Karma: 177841
Join Date: Dec 2009
Device: WinMo: IPAQ; Android: HTC HD2, Archos 7o; Java:Gravity T
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hemant View Post
I tried selecting firewall on and adding calibre in exception but failed.

I was never able to fetch news.
There are some Internet Security products that run a firewall in parallel to the Windows Firewall (Avast! is one). Are you running one of those, and if so, have you added Calibre as an exception to both?
Starson17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to cancel fetch news? chr4 Calibre 1 10-03-2010 08:08 AM
Fetch News Feature Mike1963 Calibre 1 08-04-2010 10:05 AM
Failed to Fetch Economist wayner Calibre 10 12-19-2009 12:30 AM
Can't Fetch News Catew Calibre 2 07-19-2009 07:46 PM
Fetch News philipdavies Calibre 5 10-08-2008 04:33 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:16 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.