Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-21-2010, 06:08 PM   #1
phenomshel
ZCD BombShel
phenomshel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.phenomshel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.phenomshel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.phenomshel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.phenomshel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.phenomshel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.phenomshel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.phenomshel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.phenomshel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.phenomshel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.phenomshel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
phenomshel's Avatar
 
Posts: 4,692
Karma: 6075874
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: The Frozen North (aka Illinois, USA)
Device: Samsung Galaxy Note 8
Calibre GUI behavior between machines

I have Calibre 7.15 installed on my desktop (Windows 7) and my netbook/tablet (also Windows 7) I have it set up so that the netbook accesses the Calibre Librar(ies) stored on my desktop.
When I make changes to the Calibre GUI (columns, etc.) on the netbook, those same changes show up in the Calibre install on the desktop.
Here's the problem. The netbook has a much smaller screen than my desktop monitor, so I'd like to be able to manipulate the GUI of each install separately. I'm gathering this information is somehow stored in the Calibre Library, though, and is therefore not able to be manipulated separately on the separate machines?
This really isn't a big deal, it just sort of caught me by surprise.
If I have to, I can make separate Calibre Libraries for each machine, store both on the desktop (more room there, which is why I have it set up this way in the first place) and point the netbook to the Libraries with the stripped down GUI. I'd prefer not to though, since doing it this way makes sure both machines are synced all the time.

Last edited by phenomshel; 08-21-2010 at 06:11 PM. Reason: added something
phenomshel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2010, 06:21 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,422
Karma: 4961459
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
column layout is stored per library.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2010, 06:28 PM   #3
phenomshel
ZCD BombShel
phenomshel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.phenomshel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.phenomshel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.phenomshel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.phenomshel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.phenomshel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.phenomshel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.phenomshel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.phenomshel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.phenomshel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.phenomshel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
phenomshel's Avatar
 
Posts: 4,692
Karma: 6075874
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: The Frozen North (aka Illinois, USA)
Device: Samsung Galaxy Note 8
Thanks, Kovid, that's what I thought. I guess what I will do is move the columns around so that the essential information I need on the netbook will be visible on that small screen, (the other columns I'll need to scroll sideways to get to, which isn't a problem), but all of it will show up on the bigger monitor.
phenomshel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GUI-less usage of calibre (especially rss-download) lena_punkt Calibre 18 09-06-2013 08:15 AM
Calibre 0.6.10 GUI crashes on startup Wagenius Calibre 1 09-03-2009 01:53 AM
Calibre Metadata.DB on two machines chaznsc Calibre 8 07-09-2009 03:22 PM
--breadth-first option in calibre GUI osmo79 Calibre 1 05-30-2009 11:45 AM
Calibre GUI crash on convert aapezzuto Calibre 1 08-02-2008 06:39 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:41 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.