Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-21-2010, 11:06 AM   #1
bookworm65
Junior Member
bookworm65 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 9
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2010
Device: kindle
calibre won't load due to AV

I am having problems with Calibre loading. I have Kaspersky IS 2010. But when I try and load up Calibre the CPU usage for KI spikes to around 90%+ resulting in Calibre not loading.
If I then exit KI Calibre loads. Now this is hardly the way to go, having to basically disable my AV system every single time I wish to use Calibre.
Does anyone have a clue as to why this happens?
I don't really want to have to remove and reinstall Calibre, as I have only just got it to install after 4 fails over the last couple of weeks.
bookworm65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2010, 11:13 AM   #2
itimpi
Wizard
itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,058
Karma: 777825
Join Date: Nov 2008
Device: Sony PRS-950, iphone/ipad (Marvin/iBooks/QuickReader)
Why not set the AV software to exclude Calibre from AV checks rather than disabling it? Calibre can open thousands of files during load, so if the AV software is interfering with this making it ignore calibre sounds like the only way forward.
itimpi is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
kindle can't open pdf from calibre due to unsupported embeds JPD Calibre 3 09-29-2010 06:42 PM
Calibre 0.7.9 failed to load ImageMagick Eldomir Calibre 4 07-21-2010 09:08 PM
Cannot load newly installed Calibre BocolaMom Calibre 3 07-09-2010 11:57 AM
Calibre won't load on new Macbook Pro--please help! HandbagJunkie Calibre 5 01-02-2010 11:07 PM
Calibre Won't Load calibrepf Calibre 6 12-10-2009 04:22 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:33 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.