Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-17-2010, 11:14 AM   #1
Steve Ramponi
Junior Member
Steve Ramponi began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 8
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2010
Device: nook
upgraded to calibre 0.7.14 and cant get metadata

I Upgraded from 0.7.12 to version 0.7.14 and cannot fetch meta data from servers.

i get the following errors
Google
(10061, "no connectioncould be made because the target machine actively refused it)

isbndb could not fetch isbndb metadata. error:

same as google from douban books

worked fine before the upgrade

Steve Ramponi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 11:22 AM   #2
itimpi
Wizard
itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,071
Karma: 777825
Join Date: Nov 2008
Device: Sony PRS-950, iphone/ipad (Marvin/iBooks/QuickReader)
It could be your firewall software blocking calibre access to the internet.
itimpi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 11:28 AM   #3
Steve Ramponi
Junior Member
Steve Ramponi began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 8
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2010
Device: nook
all permissions are set to allow it, and it worked fine before the upgrade
Steve Ramponi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 11:31 AM   #4
itimpi
Wizard
itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,071
Karma: 777825
Join Date: Nov 2008
Device: Sony PRS-950, iphone/ipad (Marvin/iBooks/QuickReader)
It seems to work fine for everyone else, so it has to be something local to your system! I mentioned the firewall because many firewall packages see a new release as a new program that needs re-authourising.
itimpi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 11:33 AM   #5
Steve Ramponi
Junior Member
Steve Ramponi began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 8
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2010
Device: nook
hmmmmmm, how do I reauthorize, all I use is windows firewall
Steve Ramponi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 11:39 AM   #6
Steve Ramponi
Junior Member
Steve Ramponi began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 8
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2010
Device: nook
I rebooted, then turned off windows firewall, and still the same thing, I even uninstalled and reinstalled, question is, when I reinstalled it still saved some info, after uninstalling what else do I need to delete to I can do a clean install
Steve Ramponi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 11:53 AM   #7
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,125
Karma: 5381911
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
all previous calibre reelases are available at sourceforge, simply downgrade back to 0.7.12 and see if it fixes it.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 11:54 AM   #8
Steve Ramponi
Junior Member
Steve Ramponi began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 8
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2010
Device: nook
thank you, and I plan on donating, I love your program, it is freaking awesome, lol
Steve Ramponi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 12:21 PM   #9
Steve Ramponi
Junior Member
Steve Ramponi began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 8
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2010
Device: nook
did a clean uninstall, reinstalled, got same error with older version, hmmmmmm I havn't installed anything new. I even end tasked on all non essential programs
Steve Ramponi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 12:32 PM   #10
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,125
Karma: 5381911
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Its probably a wrong proxy setting. Malware often changes the proxy settings on computers it infects.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 12:40 PM   #11
Steve Ramponi
Junior Member
Steve Ramponi began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 8
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2010
Device: nook
that did it, I adjusted the proxy settings and its working now.....running malwarebytes as we speak, THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU, LOL
Steve Ramponi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why is the un-upgraded PRS500 no longer supported in Calibre 0.7? megacoupe Calibre 10 08-29-2010 11:09 PM
Calibre metadata.calibre not allowing updates Chuckels550 Calibre 10 08-09-2010 05:12 PM
deleted tags reappearing in Sony Reader after connecting to new/upgraded Calibre katenepveu Calibre 2 06-20-2010 10:10 PM
Upgraded to Calibre 6.31 today now problem with loading PDF files? slboyd Calibre 2 01-01-2010 11:33 AM
Upgraded PRS-500, Calibre now sees it as a Sony Pocket Reader drogo Calibre 2 12-22-2009 06:09 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:20 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.