Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-14-2010, 03:13 PM   #1
HunterZ
Member
HunterZ is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 15
Karma: 50
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Seattle
Device: Nook
Calibre puts garbage JPG files on the Nook

So I've used Calibre 0.7.14 to put some EPUB-format books onto my stock Nook, and I noticed that along with the EPUB files it also uploads JPG files that just contain vertical lines in various colors. It looks like these are maybe supposed to be thumbnails of the book covers, but I guess something is going wrong with Calibre when it makes them. Anyone know what's up?

Thanks.

Edit: I've attached one of the JPG files so you can see what I'm talking about.
Attached Images
 

Last edited by HunterZ; 08-14-2010 at 03:16 PM.
HunterZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 03:35 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,436
Karma: 5383257
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
WHat operating system is this on?
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Advertisement
Old 08-14-2010, 03:38 PM   #3
HunterZ
Member
HunterZ is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 15
Karma: 50
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Seattle
Device: Nook
Windows XP Pro SP3.

I browsed to the Calibre library folder tree on my hard drive and drive and found a full-size cover JPG that it extracted from the EPUB and it looks fine, so it seems to have just messed up the thumbnail conversion or something.
HunterZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 04:04 PM   #4
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,436
Karma: 5383257
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Works for me on linux, can somebody else using the nook with windows confirm this bug.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 04:14 PM   #5
HunterZ
Member
HunterZ is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 15
Karma: 50
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Seattle
Device: Nook
Maybe I should try booting Ubuntu and installing Calibre there and then have it access my library that I've created in the Windows version since you know that the Linux version will generate thumbnails properly.

I did compare Calibre's Nook driver code to the Apple driver code and noticed that they do thumbnails completely differently. I also noticed that almost none of the other drivers really do thumbnails at all.
HunterZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 09:28 PM   #6
HunterZ
Member
HunterZ is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 15
Karma: 50
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Seattle
Device: Nook
I just updated to Calibre 0.7.17 and this is still happening (attaching a new screenshot). I also got a PM from another forum member who may be having the same issue; I encouraged him/her to post here as well.

Testing out the Linux version of Calibre is in progress; I installed Calibre on my Ubuntu disk but didn't have my Nook handy at the time.

Edit: Linux 0.7.17 seems to work fine, so it's definitely a Windows specific issue for me.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	untitled.PNG
Views:	112
Size:	31.7 KB
ID:	57588   Click image for larger version

Name:	untitled2.PNG
Views:	102
Size:	381.9 KB
ID:	57589   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot (Modified).png
Views:	98
Size:	61.8 KB
ID:	57590  

Last edited by HunterZ; 09-03-2010 at 09:52 PM.
HunterZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 09:51 PM   #7
DoctorOhh
US Navy, Retired
DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DoctorOhh's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,908
Karma: 12755553
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Device: Nexus 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by HunterZ View Post
I just updated to Calibre 0.7.17 and this is still happening (attaching a new screenshot). I also got a PM from another forum member who may be having the same issue; I encouraged him/her to post here as well.
Since it seems that currently the 2 you are the exception to the rule. Talk with this other user and see if you both run some unique piece of software, graphics card or processor that is interfering with this process.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HunterZ View Post
Testing out the Linux version of Calibre is in progress; I installed Calibre on my Ubuntu disk but didn't have my Nook handy at the time.
Since the two you run different versions of Windows I'm curious if Ubuntu will give you problems.

I'm also surprised that others haven't come forward with this error.
DoctorOhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 09:53 PM   #8
HunterZ
Member
HunterZ is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 15
Karma: 50
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Seattle
Device: Nook
Updated previous post with screenshot of it working properly in Ubuntu 10.04 on the same machine that is having problems via Windows XP.

Edit: Oh, the person who PM'd me already posted a thread on this and he's using Vista: http://www.mobileread.com/forums/showthread.php?t=95983

So it looks like it can happen on both XP and Vista, but works fine on the same machine on Ubuntu.

Last edited by HunterZ; 09-03-2010 at 09:59 PM.
HunterZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 10:03 PM   #9
DoctorOhh
US Navy, Retired
DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DoctorOhh's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,908
Karma: 12755553
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Device: Nexus 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by HunterZ View Post
Edit: Oh, the person who PM'd me already posted a thread on this and he's using Vista: http://www.mobileread.com/forums/showthread.php?t=95983

So it looks like it can happen on both XP and Vista, but works fine on the same machine on Ubuntu.
I referred him to you in that thread to see if you all could figure out what you each had in common that is causing this.

Good Luck.
DoctorOhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 10:17 PM   #10
HunterZ
Member
HunterZ is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 15
Karma: 50
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Seattle
Device: Nook
I think I may have found a piece of the puzzle. The machine on which I run Calibre is my old desktop, so I've converted it to a sort of server/workstation that I log into via Remote Desktop. On a hunch, I decided to try connecting via VNC instead of Remote Desktop to see if that would affect anything, and interestingly it made Calibre's Nook cover thumbnail generation work properly (see screenshot).

My guess is that the library (or whatever) that Calibre is using to generate the cover thumbnails for the Nook is dependent on some video hardware feature that Remote Desktop doesn't emulate properly. UltraVNC captures the remote computer's video via different methods that apparently don't cause Calibre to malfunction.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled.png
Views:	98
Size:	171.9 KB
ID:	57591  
HunterZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 10:22 PM   #11
DoctorOhh
US Navy, Retired
DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DoctorOhh's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,908
Karma: 12755553
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Device: Nexus 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by HunterZ View Post
My guess is that the library (or whatever) that Calibre is using to generate the cover thumbnails for the Nook is dependent on some video hardware feature that Remote Desktop doesn't emulate properly. UltraVNC captures the remote computer's video via different methods that apparently don't cause Calibre to malfunction.
That does indeed sound like a unique setup that you both might have been running, great work!
DoctorOhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 10:28 PM   #12
HunterZ
Member
HunterZ is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 15
Karma: 50
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Seattle
Device: Nook
I've updated bug #4828 in the Calibre bug tracker with a link to this thread in hopes that it helps lead to a fix: http://bugs.calibre-ebook.com/ticket/4828
HunterZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 11:30 PM   #13
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,436
Karma: 5383257
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Interesting, thumbnail generation happens using Qt, I'll look into switching it to IMageMagick, if it does not take too much work.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 12:48 AM   #14
WJMuldowney
Connoisseur
WJMuldowney began at the beginning.
 
WJMuldowney's Avatar
 
Posts: 62
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Device: Nook
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
Works for me on linux, can somebody else using the nook with windows confirm this bug.

Yes, same exact bug using Windows Vista.
WJMuldowney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 12:55 AM   #15
DoctorOhh
US Navy, Retired
DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DoctorOhh's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,908
Karma: 12755553
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Device: Nexus 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by WJMuldowney View Post
Yes, same exact bug using Windows Vista.
Read the last few posts. Is your problem caused by the same source (see post 10)? The question is are you using a remote connection to your box?

Last edited by DoctorOhh; 09-04-2010 at 12:58 AM.
DoctorOhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calibre changes size of cover.jpg when copy to new Libary --> see PDF attached icq70610 Calibre 5 10-02-2010 02:29 PM
JPG cover files not removed from Novel js4c Calibre 5 08-03-2010 10:27 PM
DR800 Couldn't we turn to the next image at one click when viewing jpg files? bokjeid iRex 3 07-22-2010 06:47 PM
Calibre leaving behind garbage in the filesystem? tobidope Calibre 3 07-13-2010 04:39 PM
calibre auto fetch non-scheduled job & puts out error msg shinew Calibre 2 02-23-2009 11:27 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:00 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.