Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-20-2010, 01:59 PM   #31
plunderydoo
Enthusiast
plunderydoo has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.plunderydoo has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.plunderydoo has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.plunderydoo has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.plunderydoo has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.
 
Posts: 38
Karma: 412
Join Date: Sep 2009
Device: WinMobile, Hanvon N516 w. OpenInkPot, eLyricon EBX-500, Iphone 3GS
@GrzegorzN:

When using the Plugins for Amazon DE I get this Message:

amazon book details: feature subjects is not deprecated

What does this mean ? Any Idea ?

Thanks
plunderydoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 10:37 AM   #32
lbik
Reader
lbik doesn't litterlbik doesn't litter
 
Posts: 46
Karma: 162
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hannover
Device: Kindle KB and Kindle Fire HD 8.9
Use the hosts file

The easiest way to get the details from AMAZON.DE is to insert
178.236.4.28 www.amazon.com
in the hosts file.

178.236.4.28 is the IP fro Amazon.de

When you need to goto Amazon.com you have to delete this.
lbik is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Advertisement
Old 01-12-2011, 11:55 AM   #33
plunderydoo
Enthusiast
plunderydoo has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.plunderydoo has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.plunderydoo has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.plunderydoo has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.plunderydoo has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.
 
Posts: 38
Karma: 412
Join Date: Sep 2009
Device: WinMobile, Hanvon N516 w. OpenInkPot, eLyricon EBX-500, Iphone 3GS
THANKS IBIK !!!!
This is great !!
Now i finally get usable social Metadata !

It would be so nice to have a little Listbox in the Amazon-plugin (or somewhere else) to select the Server where it searches. I Think this would help non-english Users a lot.

Please Kovid Goyal, put this little but very effective enhancement into Caliber so we dont have to manipulate around in the OS-hostfile

Best Regards
pl
plunderydoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 12:15 PM   #34
_noel_
Member
_noel_ began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 11
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bavaria / Germany
Device: iPad 4 32GB
Quote:
Originally Posted by lbik View Post
The easiest way to get the details from AMAZON.DE is to insert ...
You made my day ... my week .... you made my calibre !!!!!!



Regards
Ebe
_noel_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 05:30 AM   #35
dm101
Member
dm101 began at the beginning.
 
dm101's Avatar
 
Posts: 14
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2011
Device: Nintendo DS Lite
Quote:
Originally Posted by lbik View Post
The easiest way to get the details from AMAZON.DE is to insert
178.236.4.28 www.amazon.com
in the hosts file.

178.236.4.28 is the IP fro Amazon.de

When you need to goto Amazon.com you have to delete this.

moin, kannst du mir bitte schreiben, wo ich dieses host file finde.
hello, please write, where i can find the host file.

Thanks
dm101
dm101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 05:57 AM   #36
Manichean
Wizard
Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!
 
Manichean's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,130
Karma: 80520
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Device: Cybook Gen3
Quote:
Originally Posted by dm101 View Post
moin, kannst du mir bitte schreiben, wo ich dieses host file finde.
hello, please write, where i can find the host file.

Thanks
dm101
Depends on what OS you are running.

Last edited by Manichean; 02-02-2011 at 05:58 AM. Reason: Added link.
Manichean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 06:16 AM   #37
dm101
Member
dm101 began at the beginning.
 
dm101's Avatar
 
Posts: 14
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2011
Device: Nintendo DS Lite
windows 7 64 bit - mal sehen ob das klappt, habe zuerst nicht kapiert, dass da ein link anhängt....

Last edited by dm101; 02-02-2011 at 06:27 AM.
dm101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 06:24 AM   #38
Manichean
Wizard
Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!
 
Manichean's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,130
Karma: 80520
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Device: Cybook Gen3
Quote:
Originally Posted by dm101 View Post
windows 7 64 bit
Look at the link I posted above.
Manichean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 10:11 AM   #39
dm101
Member
dm101 began at the beginning.
 
dm101's Avatar
 
Posts: 14
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2011
Device: Nintendo DS Lite
it will not run, calibre finds no meta data :-(
dm101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 10:14 AM   #40
Manichean
Wizard
Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!
 
Manichean's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,130
Karma: 80520
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Device: Cybook Gen3
Quote:
Originally Posted by dm101 View Post
windows 7 64 bit - mal sehen ob das klappt, habe zuerst nicht kapiert, dass da ein link anhängt....
Just a friendly reminder: While I can understand you just fine, this is the english part of the forum. It would be courteous towards the other users around here to actually post in english.
Manichean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 10:21 AM   #41
dm101
Member
dm101 began at the beginning.
 
dm101's Avatar
 
Posts: 14
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2011
Device: Nintendo DS Lite
windows 7 64 bit - mal sehen ob das klappt, habe zuerst nicht kapiert, dass da ein link anhängt....

sorry - i'll try to translate:

windows 7 64 bit - i'll try it, i did not understand, that there is an attached link...
dm101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 02:00 PM   #42
lbik
Reader
lbik doesn't litterlbik doesn't litter
 
Posts: 46
Karma: 162
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hannover
Device: Kindle KB and Kindle Fire HD 8.9
Quote:
moin, kannst du mir bitte schreiben, wo ich dieses host file finde.
On a Windows System, the hosts file can be found in
\windows\system32\drivers\etc

Add a line
178.236.4.28 www.amazon.com
to the file and you get all your descriptions from Amazon.de
lbik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 03:13 PM   #43
dm101
Member
dm101 began at the beginning.
 
dm101's Avatar
 
Posts: 14
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2011
Device: Nintendo DS Lite
thank you
but now, i use calibre 0.8.0
http://www.mobileread.com/forums/sho...ight=amazon.de

Last edited by dm101; 05-08-2011 at 03:17 PM.
dm101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 02:58 PM   #44
bdgogo
Junior Member
bdgogo began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: May 2011
Device: oyo
Temporary Solution for Amazon.de

Hello Govid, i hope it is ok to post this quick an dirty solution here, if not please feel free to delete my reply and the attachment. Thanks in andvance.
dirk

I have downloaded your amazon.py program from bazaar and changed some of the xpath statements.


It is now again posible to get the Metadata from Amazon.de

I someone can't wait for a official solution please feel free to install the attachment as plugin and give it a try.


greetings dirk
Attached Files
File Type: zip amazon.de.zip (5.7 KB, 1343 views)
bdgogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 06:16 PM   #45
lbik
Reader
lbik doesn't litterlbik doesn't litter
 
Posts: 46
Karma: 162
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hannover
Device: Kindle KB and Kindle Fire HD 8.9
Quote:
i hope it is ok to post this quick an dirty solution here
Works great. Thank you
lbik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would it be possible for Amazon to re-compile Amazon Reader App for Pocketbook OS dev brecklundin PocketBook 3 09-22-2010 09:04 PM
Adding book descriptions to kindle buzzandfuzz Calibre 0 06-14-2010 05:19 PM
Article descriptions in MOBI fcadete Calibre 5 04-10-2010 09:51 AM
Viewing descriptions of Books on PRS 505 nixxy246 Sony Reader 2 08-13-2009 07:55 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:09 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.