Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-18-2010, 08:01 PM   #1
guyanonymous
Guru
guyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud of
 
Posts: 692
Karma: 27532
Join Date: Dec 2007
Device: Ebookwise 1150 / 1200
Calibre on old EEE701?

I just inherited an Asus EEE701.

Being linux-flavour challenged, I'm not sure if any of the versions of Calibre for linux would work on the EEE 701...and if so what the first steps to putting them on there are.

I see the Add/Remove Programs - but it's got a very limited list of appz - presumably those that Asus promoted initially?

I'm just wanting to read books on the device - epub and a range of others - so calibre may not even be the best choice there (I don't read books on my laptop or desktop)...
guyanonymous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 12:10 AM   #2
Worldwalker
Curmudgeon
Worldwalker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Worldwalker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Worldwalker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Worldwalker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Worldwalker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Worldwalker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Worldwalker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Worldwalker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Worldwalker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Worldwalker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Worldwalker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 3,087
Karma: 722357
Join Date: Feb 2010
Device: PRS-505
I've got a 901, and I'm not even thinking about considering trying to put Calbre on it with the stock OS -- it's a bastardized version of Xandros, and it won't handle ... well, a lot of things. Most things. Worse, it seems like ASUS has abandoned us Linux users; even the online software download site (which, admittedly, used to be about 98% links to random websites, and very little software) is offline. I don't even have a functional ebook app for the 901 (it shipped without one). *sigh*

Once the current chaos in my life has settled out a bit, I'm planning to solve the problem by putting some other flavor of Linux on it -- one that's actually, y'know, supported. I'm thinking one of the Ubuntu variants.

I was under the vague and probably mistaken impression that the 701 came with some flavor of ebook reader; rummage around a bit (or google around a bit). You won't have the organizing features you would with cailbre, but it might do what you need.
Worldwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Advertisement
Old 07-19-2010, 12:49 AM   #3
guyanonymous
Guru
guyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud of
 
Posts: 692
Karma: 27532
Join Date: Dec 2007
Device: Ebookwise 1150 / 1200
I figured out how to install fbreader through the Symbian Package thing-a-ma-bob...but other things like firefox 3.anything have frustrated my attempts.

I'll be able to make do with fbreader, I'm sure - and will def. look into other flavours of ubuntu once I figure things out better.

At least it's easy to revert to the original state in under 2 minutes...yay F9

No need to continue this discus. as fbreader will do what I need for now.

Thanks for the quick response!
guyanonymous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 10:00 PM   #4
Clancy_s
Zealot
Clancy_s ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Clancy_s ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Clancy_s ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Clancy_s ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Clancy_s ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Clancy_s ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Clancy_s ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Clancy_s ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Clancy_s ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Clancy_s ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Clancy_s ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Clancy_s's Avatar
 
Posts: 134
Karma: 1010308
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Newcastle, NSW
Device: Sony PRS-505
Ubuntu netbook or light would probably work best.

I'm running Calibre 0.7.9 (started about 0.6) under regular ubuntu 64 bit with no problems, using the command line install from Calibre's site (straight copy and paste into a terminal) to keep current, but if you don't mind being a bit out of date you can also get it from Ubuntu's repositories.
Clancy_s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 10:14 PM   #5
capidamonte
Not who you think I am...
capidamonte , Klaatu Barada Niktu!capidamonte , Klaatu Barada Niktu!capidamonte , Klaatu Barada Niktu!capidamonte , Klaatu Barada Niktu!capidamonte , Klaatu Barada Niktu!capidamonte , Klaatu Barada Niktu!capidamonte , Klaatu Barada Niktu!capidamonte , Klaatu Barada Niktu!capidamonte , Klaatu Barada Niktu!capidamonte , Klaatu Barada Niktu!capidamonte , Klaatu Barada Niktu!
 
capidamonte's Avatar
 
Posts: 346
Karma: 5337
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Honolulu
Device: Sony PRS-350
If you try Ubuntu Netbook, try the EFL version of the interface, it's supposed to be much lighter.

I used to use Xubuntu on mine, and I hear very good things about CrunchBang Linux. If you up the memory to 2GB, you'll be much better off running Calibre.
capidamonte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2010, 07:06 AM   #6
Logseman
じゃんぬねっ
Logseman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Logseman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Logseman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Logseman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Logseman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Logseman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Logseman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Logseman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Logseman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Logseman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Logseman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Logseman's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,941
Karma: 1027561
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Tenerife
Device: bq Cervantes Touch Light
I have an eeePC 701 as well. There is something that happens (to me at least) with Ubuntu Netbook Edition: the windows don't fit the screen. I'd say 800x480 is not a resolution that Ubuntu 10.4 can handle anymore...
Logseman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2010, 01:38 PM   #7
guyanonymous
Guru
guyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud of
 
Posts: 692
Karma: 27532
Join Date: Dec 2007
Device: Ebookwise 1150 / 1200
Thanks....I'm finding it an interesting little device. Does putting Ubuntu Netbook on it (or any others) screw up the 'factory reset' via F9 feature? (Stuff is stored on a hidden partition as I understand it) Or am I safe to experiment since (currently) a reset is so easy?
guyanonymous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2010, 01:49 PM   #8
Logseman
じゃんぬねっ
Logseman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Logseman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Logseman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Logseman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Logseman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Logseman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Logseman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Logseman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Logseman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Logseman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Logseman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Logseman's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,941
Karma: 1027561
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Tenerife
Device: bq Cervantes Touch Light
As long as you don't format the drive where the hidden partition lies, you're safe to experiment.
Logseman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calibre metadata.calibre not allowing updates Chuckels550 Calibre 10 08-09-2010 06:12 PM
Using Calibre as a client for another Calibre instance? toddos Calibre 27 06-30-2010 05:57 AM
cannot open calibre on osx 10.6-- "Calibre is already running" message jlip Calibre 4 01-03-2010 12:05 AM
calibre command line utilities and calibre defaults astrodad Calibre 2 08-07-2008 04:27 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:51 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.