Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-07-2010, 10:39 AM   #1
eelizondo
Junior Member
eelizondo began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2010
Device: PRS 300
Is Calibre Proxy Aware?

I live in the apartment building of a college, and the whole internet is under proxy settings. I haven't been able to get the rss feeds from my blogs and news, and the IT people said that it is probably because Calibre is not "proxy aware."

Is there any way to change this? When I am off-campus Calibre works beautifully, but on campus, no luck.
eelizondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2010, 10:41 AM   #2
chaley
"chaley", not "charley"
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 5,927
Karma: 1673776
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Device: Many android devices
What OS are you using? IIRC, on Windows, calibre uses Internet Explorer's proxy settings.
chaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2010, 11:04 AM   #3
Starson17
Wizard
Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.
 
Posts: 4,004
Karma: 177841
Join Date: Dec 2009
Device: WinMo: IPAQ; Android: HTC HD2, Archos 7o; Java:Gravity T
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaley View Post
IIRC, on Windows, calibre uses Internet Explorer's proxy settings.
It does, and if he's using Windows, a simple check for him is to see if IE works on campus. My guess is he's using FireFox or Chrome and IE does not work. It's easy to fix in IE, and that fix will work for Calibre, too. Of course, if he's not using Windows, ignore the above.
Starson17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2010, 03:02 PM   #4
eelizondo
Junior Member
eelizondo began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2010
Device: PRS 300
I'm using Mac OS X Snow Leopard. I normally use Firefox as my browser.
eelizondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2010, 03:19 PM   #5
Starson17
Wizard
Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.
 
Posts: 4,004
Karma: 177841
Join Date: Dec 2009
Device: WinMo: IPAQ; Android: HTC HD2, Archos 7o; Java:Gravity T
Quote:
Originally Posted by eelizondo View Post
I'm using Mac OS X Snow Leopard. I normally use Firefox as my browser.
The answer to your question is that Calibre is "proxy aware" but what you need to do to get it to work in OS X is beyond me. You can wait for someone else to help you here, or start debugging.

You can try running a news download and in the log there will be a line:

Using proxies:
that should tell you what proxies, if any, are in use.
Starson17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2010, 03:38 PM   #6
chaley
"chaley", not "charley"
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 5,927
Karma: 1673776
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Device: Many android devices
The change log for calibre says that as of 0.6.53, "calibre now queries OS X Network Settings if no environment variables are set." Are these settings correct?
chaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 01:10 PM   #7
Jzz
Member
Jzz began at the beginning.
 
Jzz's Avatar
 
Posts: 20
Karma: 12
Join Date: Jan 2010
Device: Kindle2
I use a proxy server and was having the same issue. GrimReaperLu's 2nd post here helped me set the http_proxy environmental variable (for Windows) chaley is referring to.

You just have to figure out how to set it on your Mac -- I have Windows.
Jzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aware, calibre, campus, proxy

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PDF conversion: something to be aware of Barty Amazon Kindle 0 10-07-2010 07:09 PM
V 0.6.41 - Timezone aware - how to use this feature? solitaire Calibre 3 02-20-2010 06:10 AM
What are some problems that I should be aware of? ohheythere Sony Reader 22 04-18-2009 09:08 AM
Proxy authentication problems (I have no proxy) fogus Calibre 16 03-08-2009 02:27 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:35 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.