Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-19-2010, 09:05 PM   #1
Lector77
Junior Member
Lector77 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2010
Device: Kindle
No Fetching

I love this software, but the fetch news function will not work. I have tried the 8787 thing, I have removed and reinstalled it, still nothing. It keeps telling me periodically that I'm not connected to the internet. What am I doing wrong?
Lector77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2010, 10:30 PM   #2
Starson17
Wizard
Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.
 
Posts: 4,004
Karma: 177841
Join Date: Dec 2009
Device: WinMo: IPAQ; Android: HTC HD2, Archos 7o; Java:Gravity T
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lector77 View Post
I love this software, but the fetch news function will not work. I have tried the 8787 thing, I have removed and reinstalled it, still nothing. It keeps telling me periodically that I'm not connected to the internet. What am I doing wrong?
AFAIK, "the 8787 thing" relates to an alternate port used for the content server, and won't help you at all. It isn't related to news fetching. Most likely, you have an aggressive firewall blocking Calibre from the net. Can you turn it off and retest?
Starson17 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Advertisement
Old 06-19-2010, 10:39 PM   #3
Lector77
Junior Member
Lector77 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2010
Device: Kindle
I have turned off the firewall and added it to my list of acceptable programs but it still gives me nothing.
Lector77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2010, 11:15 PM   #4
DoctorOhh
US Navy, Retired
DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DoctorOhh's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,909
Karma: 12755553
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Device: Nexus 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lector77 View Post
I have turned off the firewall and added it to my list of acceptable programs but it still gives me nothing.
It sounds like a proxy problem to me. I have no experience in this area but your host file could be blocking you. I'm just a bobble head talking nonsense try reading these threads via Google.
DoctorOhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2010, 11:22 PM   #5
Lector77
Junior Member
Lector77 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2010
Device: Kindle
It's all a bunch of gobbledygook to me too, but thanks for trying.
Lector77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2010, 11:24 PM   #6
DoctorOhh
US Navy, Retired
DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DoctorOhh's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,909
Karma: 12755553
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Device: Nexus 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lector77 View Post
It's all a bunch of gobbledygook to me too, but thanks for trying.
I'm curious do you have any problems connecting to sites via IE?
DoctorOhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 12:06 PM   #7
Lector77
Junior Member
Lector77 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2010
Device: Kindle
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwanthny View Post
I'm curious do you have any problems connecting to sites via IE?
If by IE you mean Internet Explorer then, yes, I can't get that to work at all.
Lector77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 01:18 PM   #8
Starson17
Wizard
Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.
 
Posts: 4,004
Karma: 177841
Join Date: Dec 2009
Device: WinMo: IPAQ; Android: HTC HD2, Archos 7o; Java:Gravity T
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lector77 View Post
If by IE you mean Internet Explorer then, yes, I can't get that to work at all.
It's likely to be broken proxy settings. Calibre respects the proxy settings in Windows. A virus can change them. Run a news download and in the log there will be a line:

Using proxies:

that should tell you what proxies are being used. You change them through Internet Explorer. See here.
Starson17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 01:40 PM   #9
Lector77
Junior Member
Lector77 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2010
Device: Kindle
Well, for some reason my Internet Explorer won't allow me to access the tool button. It also just says it's connecting, but it never connects to anything.
Lector77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 01:51 PM   #10
Starson17
Wizard
Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.
 
Posts: 4,004
Karma: 177841
Join Date: Dec 2009
Device: WinMo: IPAQ; Android: HTC HD2, Archos 7o; Java:Gravity T
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lector77 View Post
Well, for some reason my Internet Explorer won't allow me to access the tool button. It also just says it's connecting, but it never connects to anything.
You may be able to reset proxies via the registry. Google is your friend. You may also want to do a good virus scan, unless you've reset the proxy settings recently.
Starson17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 06:21 PM   #11
DoctorOhh
US Navy, Retired
DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DoctorOhh's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,909
Karma: 12755553
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Device: Nexus 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starson17 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lector77 View Post
If by IE you mean Internet Explorer then, yes, I can't get that to work at all.
It's likely to be broken proxy settings. Calibre respects the proxy settings in Windows. A virus can change them. Run a news download and in the log there will be a line:

Using proxies:

that should tell you what proxies are being used. You change them through Internet Explorer. See here.
This is why I was asking, Internet Explorer not working is a dead giveaway to something other then calibre in the computer screwed up.

Check this Google search it may help.
DoctorOhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2010, 01:04 AM   #12
Lector77
Junior Member
Lector77 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2010
Device: Kindle
Thanks, I think I've got it figured out.
Lector77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2010, 09:48 AM   #13
Starson17
Wizard
Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.
 
Posts: 4,004
Karma: 177841
Join Date: Dec 2009
Device: WinMo: IPAQ; Android: HTC HD2, Archos 7o; Java:Gravity T
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwanthny View Post
This is why I was asking, Internet Explorer not working is a dead giveaway to something other then calibre in the computer screwed up.
I know. I was agreeing with your diagnosis.
Starson17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2010, 08:19 PM   #14
DoctorOhh
US Navy, Retired
DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DoctorOhh's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,909
Karma: 12755553
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Device: Nexus 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starson17 View Post
I know. I was agreeing with your diagnosis.
I knew that, text is an imperfect medium of communications at times. This was directed to the original poster with further advice.
DoctorOhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fetching News has gone bad... rogue_ronin Calibre 6 09-03-2010 09:41 AM
Trouble fetching news jpustin Calibre 6 06-28-2010 02:57 PM
Fetching The Australian Javed Calibre 7 11-30-2009 05:15 AM
Fetching News In Calibre Rootman Calibre 2 11-11-2009 08:06 PM
Error Fetching Cover giddion Calibre 4 02-10-2009 07:28 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:49 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.