Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-08-2010, 09:44 PM   #1
Berni
Enthusiast
Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 39
Karma: 500010
Join Date: Jun 2007
Device: mio
Calibre v7

I am new to Calibre and have downloaded the latest version today and installed it but the program will not start and the info I copied from the start screen is..

ERROR: Failed to create library: Failed to create calibre library at: u'G:\\CALIBRE lIBRARY'. Aborting.

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "site-packages\calibre\gui2\main.py", line 74, in get_library_path
File "os.py", line 150, in makedirs
File "os.py", line 157, in makedirs
WindowsError: [Error 3] The system cannot find the path specified: u'G:\\'

I am running Windows 7 Home Premium and whilst I am not new to installing programs I have not encountered anything like this before. I rebooted the computer after installing Calibre and before running the program.

Could you please give me directions to follow.
Thank you....Berni
Berni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2010, 10:50 PM   #2
DoctorOhh
US Navy, Retired
DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DoctorOhh's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,908
Karma: 12755553
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Device: Nexus 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Berni View Post
I am new to Calibre and have downloaded the latest version today and installed it but the program will not start and the info I copied from the start screen is..

ERROR: Failed to create library: Failed to create calibre library at: u'G:\\CALIBRE lIBRARY'. Aborting.
First verify the path. It is trying to open the library at G:\\CALIBRE lIBRARY there seems to be one slash\ too many. I suspect you entered this during install.

Find the correct path to the library to be and start it from a command line the first time. Something like this.

Calibre --with-library G:\CALIBRE_LIBRARY

It will open calibre pointing to that directory for the library. It also sets this directory in the preferences and you should be able to start via the normal shortcut there after.
DoctorOhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 01:04 AM   #3
Berni
Enthusiast
Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 39
Karma: 500010
Join Date: Jun 2007
Device: mio
Calibre v7.1

Thanks for your reply. I can open the program if I log out as User and log in as Administrator but it will not run, same as before, if I open it under my user name. I tried the command line as advised but to no result. I cannot understand the reference to G drive as I do not have a G drive ie only C. Computer D Recovery and E DVD drive. This has me somewhat beaten at this stage as I did not encounter the start up wizard when I first installed the program as a User and only encountered it when I logged in as administrator. I set up the library as C:\CALIBRE LIBRARY but when I try to run the program as User I get the same screen as before.

If you can shed any more light on the problem I would appreciate it otherwise I will have to look further to find another program which will work. I had Stanza some time ago but as I have just purchase an iPad I need to convert my large library to ePub instead of the formats they are in at the present.

Kind Regards...Berni
Berni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 01:12 AM   #4
DoctorOhh
US Navy, Retired
DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DoctorOhh's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,908
Karma: 12755553
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Device: Nexus 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Berni View Post
Thanks for your reply. I can open the program if I log out as User and log in as Administrator but it will not run, same as before, if I open it under my user name.
So it runs fine if you log on as administrator?
DoctorOhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 01:39 AM   #5
Berni
Enthusiast
Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 39
Karma: 500010
Join Date: Jun 2007
Device: mio
Calibre v7.1

Yes -- installed and runs OK as administrator but not when I am logged in as User which is 99% of the time.

Berni
Berni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 04:26 AM   #6
Manichean
Wizard
Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!
 
Manichean's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,130
Karma: 80520
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Device: Cybook Gen3
Did you install Calibre using administrator privileges? If so, your normal user account might not have permission to access C:\CALIBRE LIBRARY and you'd have to manually set those permissions. I've never used Win7, but, assuming they didn't change it too much from XP, you'd find the relevant tab in the folder properties.

The reference to a drive G:\ is somewhat absurd, I agree- especially since you say that there is no such drive... This might be a mapped drive of some sort, or just an input error. Those happen, you know

EDIT: I just re-read your initial description of the error. "Cannot find path" doesn't sound very much like what I'm assuming, but it wouldn't hurt to check it out just in case.
Manichean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 05:00 AM   #7
chaley
"chaley", not "charley"
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 5,896
Karma: 1216548
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Device: Many android devices
The strange path and the fact that you didn't see the welcome wizard makes me ask: is there any chance that you or someone using that name installed a previous version of calibre? It looks like calibre is trying to use a USB drive, which means it has been used on that computer before.

In any event, try the following:
1) log in as you, not admin
2) Using the file explorer, navigate to c:\users\[your user name]\AppData\Roaming
Unless you have changed the 'view hidden files' option, windows will complain about showing you this folder. Ignore the complaints.
3) You should see a folder named 'calibre'. To be sure it is the correct folder, check inside it for files global.py, gui.py, and gui.json, along with several other files.
4) Delete the calibre folder in its entirety.
5) Start calibre.

You should now get the welcome wizard.
chaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 05:56 AM   #8
itimpi
Wizard
itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,102
Karma: 780247
Join Date: Nov 2008
Device: Sony PRS-950, iphone/ipad (Marvin/iBooks/QuickReader)
Calibre stores setting on a per-user basis so it sounds as if you have different settings for the normal user and Adininstrator user. The steps mentioned above will remove the settings for the current user.

The other possibility (also mentioned eariler) is that the folder holding the Calibre library was created under the Administrator user and only the Administrator user has full access to that folder (C:\CALIBRE_LIBRARY I think you said) and its contents. In that case it is necessary to log on as the Administrator user and then make sure the permissions on the C:\CALIBRE_LIBRARY folder are set to allow 'Everyone' full access to that folder and its contained files and sub-folders.
itimpi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 06:32 AM   #9
Berni
Enthusiast
Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Berni ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 39
Karma: 500010
Join Date: Jun 2007
Device: mio
Calibre v7.1

Hi. Thanks to Chaley - your info helped immensely and now I have Calibre v7 working when logged on as User. I had forgotten that I installed an earlier version of Calibre when moving all my programs to this computer via Laplink last year as I had not opened the program. It was the purchase of an iPad that made me want to use some of my books in the iBooks app instead of my usual Bebook reader but in fact the iPad is not comfortable to hold for very long so I don't think I will be reading all that much on it. This reminds me to go through all the programs installed and remove a lot of the stuff that is now out of date.

Again my thanks for your help and all the others who so kindly offered their suggestions - it's a good feeling to know someone out "there" is ready to help.

Cheers...Berni
Berni is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calibre metadata.calibre not allowing updates Chuckels550 Calibre 10 08-09-2010 06:12 PM
Using Calibre as a client for another Calibre instance? toddos Calibre 27 06-30-2010 05:57 AM
cannot open calibre on osx 10.6-- "Calibre is already running" message jlip Calibre 4 01-03-2010 12:05 AM
calibre command line utilities and calibre defaults astrodad Calibre 2 08-07-2008 04:27 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:01 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.