Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Sony Reader

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-23-2010, 12:31 PM   #1
cherublace
Junior Member
cherublace began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: May 2010
Device: sony PRS-600
"USB Device Not Recognize"

I tried to connect PRS 600 today and got the above message. tried to connect husband's reader (same model) connects fine. my reader does connect to another computer so don't think its a reader issue but computer issue. anyone have this happen?
cherublace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 05:41 PM   #2
GraceKrispy
Rollin' with the punches
GraceKrispy ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GraceKrispy ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GraceKrispy ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GraceKrispy ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GraceKrispy ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GraceKrispy ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GraceKrispy ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GraceKrispy ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GraceKrispy ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GraceKrispy ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GraceKrispy ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
GraceKrispy's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,892
Karma: 2633039
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: (USA)
Device: Sony PRS-650, droid x, sad damaged 505
yes, there was a period of time when the computer would *not* recognize my reader. Sometimes Iʻd put it into another usb port on the same computer, and it would recognize it. Then, the problem stopped. I wish I could tell you what I did differently, but I really donʻt know. The computer is mainly used by my husband and perhaps he did something differently along the way... ? All I can tell you is that the problem stopped and I havenʻt had it since. And I really donʻt know why.
GraceKrispy is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Advertisement
Old 05-30-2010, 09:23 PM   #3
cherublace
Junior Member
cherublace began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: May 2010
Device: sony PRS-600
i have been out of town sorry for the delay in responding. thanks for your response. i have heard of this spontaneously fixing itself and apparently it is a big problem if you check the many tech pages out there. i will continue to try to solve the problem as i really want to be able to load directly to reader rather than memory card. if i get it taken care of i will post the fix.
cherublace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 05:47 PM   #4
alfredopp
Member
alfredopp is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.alfredopp is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.alfredopp is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.alfredopp is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.alfredopp is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.alfredopp is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.alfredopp is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.alfredopp is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.alfredopp is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.alfredopp is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.alfredopp is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.
 
Posts: 23
Karma: 4695
Join Date: Dec 2009
Device: none
Just push the reset button on the bottom of your reader. That should do it
alfredopp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 09:31 AM   #5
cherublace
Junior Member
cherublace began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: May 2010
Device: sony PRS-600
if i reset will i lose my loaded books?? not a huge deal i can reload them but i would then wait a few days to try this because i don't have time now to reload all my books. thanks for you advice.
cherublace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 01:58 PM   #6
alfredopp
Member
alfredopp is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.alfredopp is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.alfredopp is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.alfredopp is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.alfredopp is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.alfredopp is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.alfredopp is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.alfredopp is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.alfredopp is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.alfredopp is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.alfredopp is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.
 
Posts: 23
Karma: 4695
Join Date: Dec 2009
Device: none
You will not lose any books. You may only lose the page were you left on on your last books but other than you dont lose anything dont worry
alfredopp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 05:33 PM   #7
sunnysmiles
Addict
sunnysmiles ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.sunnysmiles ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.sunnysmiles ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.sunnysmiles ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.sunnysmiles ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.sunnysmiles ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.sunnysmiles ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.sunnysmiles ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.sunnysmiles ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.sunnysmiles ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.sunnysmiles ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 250
Karma: 1100584
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London
Device: I pad air, kindle pw2 and kindle touch , kindle had fire Nook pad nook
I have had that same message today how do I fix it . Im using windows Home premium 7 32 bit .Im a bit cheesed of.
sunnysmiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2010, 03:14 PM   #8
cherublace
Junior Member
cherublace began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: May 2010
Device: sony PRS-600
Alfredopp: Bravo!! I finally really needed to load some new books so i reset the reader and Voila! the device was recognized. Thanks.
cherublace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 04:42 PM   #9
mikij
Connoisseur
mikij doesn't littermikij doesn't litter
 
Posts: 98
Karma: 161
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Quebec, Canada
Device: PRS-600
Quote:
Originally Posted by alfredopp View Post
Just push the reset button on the bottom of your reader. That should do it
I did it and it worked!
mikij is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Displaygetauschter" 302 lässt sich nicht mehr per USB verbinden lp344 PocketBook 29 09-15-2010 02:55 AM
New PRS-700: "USB Device Not Recognized" -- HELP! Cyrusx7 Sony Reader 13 09-10-2009 01:38 AM
"USB device not recognized" Indyrm03 Sony Reader 2 02-28-2009 10:05 PM
My Sony Reader only shows: "USB connected" luisbeltran Sony Reader 12 02-20-2009 11:15 PM
Windows doesn't recognize USB device joikd Fictionwise eBookwise 5 08-06-2008 10:56 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:02 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.