Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-05-2010, 04:17 PM   #1
oak
Junior Member
oak began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Apr 2010
Device: Nook
Getting Bad Database Error

When installing on XP:

ERROR: Bad database location: Bad database location:C:\testbook

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "site-packages\calibre\gui2\ui.py", line 472, in __init__
File "site-packages\calibre\library\database2.py", line 460, in __init__
File "site-packages\calibre\library\database2.py", line 444, in connect
WindowsError: [Error 32] The process cannot access the file because it is being used by another process: 'C:\\testbook\\metadata.db'

Any ideas?
oak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2010, 04:36 PM   #2
Starson17
Wizard
Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.
 
Posts: 4,004
Karma: 177841
Join Date: Dec 2009
Device: WinMo: IPAQ; Android: HTC HD2, Archos 7o; Java:Gravity T
Quote:
Originally Posted by oak View Post
When installing on XP:

ERROR: Bad database location: Bad database location:C:\testbook

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "site-packages\calibre\gui2\ui.py", line 472, in __init__
File "site-packages\calibre\library\database2.py", line 460, in __init__
File "site-packages\calibre\library\database2.py", line 444, in connect
WindowsError: [Error 32] The process cannot access the file because it is being used by another process: 'C:\\testbook\\metadata.db'

Any ideas?
You are probably attempting to install a second copy of calibre while running a first copy. By default calibre does not shut down all processes when you click the X. You have to right click the tray icon and select Quit. Reboot and try the install again.
Starson17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2010, 05:38 PM   #3
oak
Junior Member
oak began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Apr 2010
Device: Nook
Do you know the process name? I am looking in my task bar and not finding a tray icon for calibre.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	taskbar.png
Views:	80
Size:	10.7 KB
ID:	49276  
oak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 02:52 AM   #4
itimpi
Wizard
itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,027
Karma: 777817
Join Date: Nov 2008
Device: Sony PRS-950, iphone/ipad (Marvin/iBooks/QuickReader)
All the Calibre processes will have "calibre" as part of the process name as shown in Task Manager.
itimpi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 07:10 AM   #5
DoctorOhh
US Navy, Retired
DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DoctorOhh's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,773
Karma: 12516053
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Device: Nexus 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by oak View Post
When installing on XP:

ERROR: Bad database location: Bad database location:C:\testbook

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "site-packages\calibre\gui2\ui.py", line 472, in __init__
File "site-packages\calibre\library\database2.py", line 460, in __init__
File "site-packages\calibre\library\database2.py", line 444, in connect
WindowsError: [Error 32] The process cannot access the file because it is being used by another process: 'C:\\testbook\\metadata.db'

Any ideas?
Is this a fresh install or installing over a older version?

Have you rebooted and tried again?

Is your Windows XP updated to Service Pack 3 (SP3)?
DoctorOhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bad Database Location on Install Timoleon Calibre 23 02-23-2011 02:35 AM
Calibre won't open after install -- ERROR: Bad database location htbyron Calibre 3 06-17-2010 10:43 AM
Bad database location southcot Calibre 2 05-05-2010 07:37 AM
Bad database and python tobarefeet Calibre 1 03-31-2010 01:55 PM
Bad Database Location Anggun Calibre 1 12-25-2008 02:17 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:30 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.