Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-24-2010, 05:42 AM   #1
hmonster
Junior Member
hmonster began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 9
Karma: 10
Join Date: May 2009
Device: PRS-505
Install problem on Linux (Ubuntu 9.10)

Hi, I have just swapped from Windows to Linux, so I am very much a Linux newby. I have tried to install the latest Calibre version to my system, and I get the following:

andyevans@Trinity ~ $ sudo python -c "import urllib2; exec urllib2.urlopen('http://status.calibre-ebook.com/linux_installer').read(); main()"
[sudo] password for andyevans:
Enter the installation directory for calibre [/opt]:
Will download and install calibre-0.6.45-i686.tar.bz2
Downloading calibre-0.6.45-i686.tar.bz2
100% [================================================== ====================]
Checking downloaded file integrity...
tar: Record size = 8 blocks

bzip2: I/O or other error, bailing out. Possible reason follows.
bzip2: Broken pipe
Input file = (stdin), output file = (stdout)
tar: Child returned status 1
tar: Exiting with failure status due to previous errors
Failed to download, retrying in 30 seconds...


It then downloads again and fails again, then aborts. Anyone know whats going on here?

Best regards

Andy.
hmonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 07:04 AM   #2
rlauzon
Wizard
rlauzon put the bomp in the bomp-a-bomp-a-bomp.rlauzon put the bomp in the bomp-a-bomp-a-bomp.rlauzon put the bomp in the bomp-a-bomp-a-bomp.rlauzon put the bomp in the bomp-a-bomp-a-bomp.rlauzon put the bomp in the bomp-a-bomp-a-bomp.rlauzon put the bomp in the bomp-a-bomp-a-bomp.rlauzon put the bomp in the bomp-a-bomp-a-bomp.rlauzon put the bomp in the bomp-a-bomp-a-bomp.rlauzon put the bomp in the bomp-a-bomp-a-bomp.rlauzon put the bomp in the bomp-a-bomp-a-bomp.rlauzon put the bomp in the bomp-a-bomp-a-bomp.
 
rlauzon's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,017
Karma: 67827
Join Date: Jan 2005
Device: Opus/System76 Starling
Quote:
Originally Posted by hmonster View Post
It then downloads again and fails again, then aborts. Anyone know whats going on here?
It looks like the file you are downloading is corrupt. Either it's corrupt on the server, or the way it's being downloaded leaves it corrupted on your system.

Do you have enough disk space to hold the calibre-0.6.45-i686.tar.bz2 file?
rlauzon is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Old 03-24-2010, 07:55 AM   #3
tulsa
Zealot
tulsa has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.tulsa has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.tulsa has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.tulsa has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.tulsa has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.
 
tulsa's Avatar
 
Posts: 135
Karma: 488
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tulsa, OK, USA
Device: Kindle 2, Sony PRS 900
I got this error, as well. I tried about 5 times and it finally worked. Not sure what the issue is.
tulsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 08:09 AM   #4
hmonster
Junior Member
hmonster began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 9
Karma: 10
Join Date: May 2009
Device: PRS-505
rlauzon: Don't think it is disk space as I have about 40gig free on root, and about 300 gig on /home.

tulsa: I'll try it a few more times and see how I get on then!
hmonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 08:17 AM   #5
tulsa
Zealot
tulsa has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.tulsa has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.tulsa has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.tulsa has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.tulsa has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.
 
tulsa's Avatar
 
Posts: 135
Karma: 488
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tulsa, OK, USA
Device: Kindle 2, Sony PRS 900
Let us know how it goes.

I started a few threads on my adventures using my Sony 900 with Ubuntu.
http://www.mobileread.com/forums/showthread.php?t=77989
http://www.mobileread.com/forums/showthread.php?t=77999
http://www.mobileread.com/forums/showthread.php?t=77014

Whatever you do, if you need to reinstall, be sure you completely uninstall Calibre.
I jacked up my whole library and had to redo it.

Also, I don't know if this has anything to do with it, but my p7zip got messed up and I reinstalled it just before installing Calibre via the script. After doing that, Calibre installed.

You can reinstall p7zip via synaptic, if it helps.

Last edited by tulsa; 03-24-2010 at 08:20 AM. Reason: more info
tulsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 09:50 AM   #6
hmonster
Junior Member
hmonster began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 9
Karma: 10
Join Date: May 2009
Device: PRS-505
Nope, still doesn't work. I have re-installed p7zip,and tried the installed for Calibre maybe a dozen times with the same result. I wonder what I'm missing here.
hmonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 09:54 AM   #7
tulsa
Zealot
tulsa has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.tulsa has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.tulsa has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.tulsa has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.tulsa has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.
 
tulsa's Avatar
 
Posts: 135
Karma: 488
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tulsa, OK, USA
Device: Kindle 2, Sony PRS 900
Quote:
Originally Posted by hmonster View Post
Nope, still doesn't work. I have re-installed p7zip,and tried the installed for Calibre maybe a dozen times with the same result. I wonder what I'm missing here.
weird.
I remember having this same issue when I first tried it on Ubuntu.

Do you have python installed?
http://calibre-ebook.com/download_linux


Kovid, is there something wrong with the linux download?

Have you tried installing from source?
Code:
wget -O- http://status.calibre-ebook.com/dist/src | tar xvz 
cd calibre*
sudo python setup.py install

Last edited by tulsa; 03-24-2010 at 09:55 AM. Reason: more info
tulsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 10:21 AM   #8
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,854
Karma: 5654321
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
There definitely is a bad Linux file out there as of 6.45
I managed to grab the fie at Sourceforge.net and overwrite my Calibre folder with it's content (not a new install with all the permissions, etc.)
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 05:08 AM   #9
hmonster
Junior Member
hmonster began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 9
Karma: 10
Join Date: May 2009
Device: PRS-505
Thanks for all your suggestions. If the 6.45 is a bad zip file, I will wait a couple of weeks and try the next version. I am on 6.3something from the repositories at the moment, so I am not totally desperate yet!
hmonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Install problem on ubuntu frdimond Calibre 14 02-19-2010 01:26 AM
V o.6.40 install in Ubuntu 9.10 problem? lamparty Calibre 7 02-19-2010 01:07 AM
Problem install calibre 0.6.33 (linux x64) AprilHare Calibre 11 01-11-2010 03:18 PM
ubuntu hardy problem with binary install `Illegal instruction` lampadena Calibre 2 02-10-2009 02:57 AM
Ubuntu 7.10 90% of libprs500 install... knewbie Calibre 3 12-24-2007 04:38 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:36 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.