Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-18-2010, 06:15 AM   #1
Manichean
Wizard
Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!
 
Manichean's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,130
Karma: 80446
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Device: Cybook Gen3
Location selection when transferring news to device

Hi,

from my understanding, Calibre selects whether it transfers downloaded news onto the device memory or memory card based on what storage has the most free space. For me, this results in the news being the only thing stored in the main device memory (I like having all my books on the SD). I've looked at the options given in the GUI and haven't found any possibility to change that behaviour. So, my questions are:
- Is there a hidden (or CLI argument) option somewhere that I just happened to miss?
- If not, am I the only one mildly annoyed by this? (It's really no big deal, but why not make a terrific program more perfect?) I'm asking this because I considered making this a feature request, but if everybody else is happy with the way this works, I'm not going to bother.

Thanks,
Manichean
Manichean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 02:15 PM   #2
Manichean
Wizard
Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!
 
Manichean's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,130
Karma: 80446
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Device: Cybook Gen3
So, considering the lack of replies, I'm assuming that noone else is bothered by this. Or people just missed this thread
Manichean is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Old 03-28-2010, 02:34 PM   #3
rcuadro
Wizard
rcuadro ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rcuadro ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rcuadro ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rcuadro ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rcuadro ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rcuadro ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rcuadro ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rcuadro ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rcuadro ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rcuadro ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rcuadro ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
rcuadro's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,688
Karma: 874275
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Device: Kindle DX
I have a Kindle 2 so I dont have a memory card to mess with though I have used it before with a PRS-505 and never really needed to worry about where to send something. I sent what I wanted to the card and what I wanted to the device.
I know that you can set Calibre up to make the memory card to the the default location though I dont know if Calibre will do that with books AND news...
rcuadro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 05:12 AM   #4
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,419
Karma: 4961459
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
There is no hidden option to change this behavior, but it's a relatively simple code tweak if you're comfortable running from source.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 05:13 AM   #5
Manichean
Wizard
Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!
 
Manichean's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,130
Karma: 80446
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Device: Cybook Gen3
Okay, thanks. I'll have a look when I have some time.
Manichean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 02:08 PM   #6
flyash
Groupie
flyash ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.flyash ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.flyash ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.flyash ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.flyash ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.flyash ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.flyash ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.flyash ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.flyash ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.flyash ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.flyash ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 183
Karma: 1003498
Join Date: Jun 2010
Device: Nook Wifi
So the only way to select whether the news is sent to device memory or sd card is to disable automatic delivery to device? And then manually send the news to whichever memory you want?

Seems like it would be an easy enhancement, if there are people wanting this feature.
flyash is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
News location on Sony PRS600 Trippytiger Calibre 2 08-21-2010 04:26 AM
Device Save Location memphisraynz Calibre 4 03-08-2010 01:00 AM
Output Directory on Device For News RSS etc Portababa Calibre 3 02-10-2010 11:31 AM
Auto-delete old news from device raduma Calibre 3 12-16-2009 08:34 PM
Trouble authorizing the ebook device whilst transferring bought ebooks? Technohead Sony Reader 1 04-07-2009 02:40 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:32 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.