Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-10-2010, 08:15 PM   #1
Starson17
Wizard
Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.
 
Posts: 4,004
Karma: 177841
Join Date: Dec 2009
Device: WinMo: IPAQ; Android: HTC HD2, Archos 7o; Java:Gravity T
Do recipes use a cache?

I'm working on a recipe using parse_index and soup to read a page at a URL that never changes. That first page has a link to a second page. The second page has a link to a third page, etc.

These pages contain the content (articles) that I want, as well as the links I want for the articles. I grab the first page, create the article link for that page and the article link for page 2 from the data on page 1. Then I read page 2 into BeautifulSoup, find the link for page 3 and stick that into my index, etc.

At this point everything is great. I've got my parsed index, and if I let it run, I get the content I want from my parsed index, just as if it had been read from an RSS feed.

However, trouble rears its head when I try to modify the pages with preprocess_html or use preprocess_regexps. It sort of looks like it's pulling the pages (that I've already downloaded to build my article/feed index) from a cache, instead of modifying them with preprocess_html before grabbing them. Has anyone seen this interaction, or have suggestions for dealing with this?

Thanks.
Starson17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 08:24 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,944
Karma: 5036099
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
No, they don't.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 10:05 PM   #3
Starson17
Wizard
Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.
 
Posts: 4,004
Karma: 177841
Join Date: Dec 2009
Device: WinMo: IPAQ; Android: HTC HD2, Archos 7o; Java:Gravity T
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
No, they don't.
OK, thanks.
As soon as I was certain it was not some sort of caching problem, I was able to find the error in my recipe. I had used "soup" as a variable twice and was writing over its contents, with unexpected results.
Starson17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help on Sony cache.xml janpardo Reading and Management 0 05-24-2010 08:22 AM
Clearing books in cache Slash5 Ectaco jetBook 3 12-18-2009 02:08 AM
PRS-500 layout values in cache.xml kenbaldwin Sony Reader Dev Corner 12 03-03-2009 07:02 PM
Relationship between multiple cache files pepak Sony Reader Dev Corner 1 09-12-2008 05:29 AM
Pre-render and cache PDF pages? nekokami iRex 3 07-02-2008 03:26 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:34 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.