Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-27-2010, 12:51 PM   #1
jjjconnon
Junior Member
jjjconnon began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 9
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Near Chicago
Device: Sony PRS-505
Drag and Drop

Need a little help.

Running Windows 7 Home Premium, setup Calibre to run under compatibility mode as Windows XP. Everything works great but unable to drop and drop any (pdf, lrf, prc, etc.) book files into Calibre. Are there any settings I should have changed?
jjjconnon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 01:15 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,463
Karma: 5383257
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
why are you running in compat mode?
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 01:52 PM   #3
jjjconnon
Junior Member
jjjconnon began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 9
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Near Chicago
Device: Sony PRS-505
Drag and drop

Took your suggestion, undid compatibility mode, restarted, same issue.
jjjconnon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 02:33 PM   #4
banjomike
Addict
banjomike ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.banjomike ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.banjomike ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.banjomike ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.banjomike ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.banjomike ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.banjomike ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.banjomike ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.banjomike ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.banjomike ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.banjomike ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
banjomike's Avatar
 
Posts: 302
Karma: 397404
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: UK
Device: PRS-505 Red,DSlibris,nook Glow,nook Simple rooted,nook HD+,Moon+,Zinio
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjjconnon View Post
Took your suggestion, undid compatibility mode, restarted, same issue.
Did you INSTALL Calibre using compatibility mode?
banjomike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 02:59 PM   #5
jjjconnon
Junior Member
jjjconnon began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 9
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Near Chicago
Device: Sony PRS-505
Drag and Drop

I installed the latest version (0.6.43) on top of the previous version this morning without using compatibility mode.
jjjconnon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 03:08 PM   #6
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,463
Karma: 5383257
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
When you say you are unable to drop do you mean that the drop indicator never comes up or that when you drop nothing happens?
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 03:18 PM   #7
jjjconnon
Junior Member
jjjconnon began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 9
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Near Chicago
Device: Sony PRS-505
Drag and Drop

When I drag a file from an explorer window (drop indicator s I move it across my desktop) on top of the book list in the Calibre window, I get a zero symbol with a slash thru it (unable to drop symbol?) and Calibre does not see the book as a new addition
jjjconnon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 03:30 PM   #8
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,463
Karma: 5383257
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Yes, that's a cannot drop symbol. Strange, I don't know of any reason why that should be happening? Any one else seeing this?
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 03:45 PM   #9
jjjconnon
Junior Member
jjjconnon began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 9
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Near Chicago
Device: Sony PRS-505
Drag and Drop

The only other information I can think to add is that when I install Calibre, the remove programs part of control panel does not have a "uninstall" for Calibre.

Also when I start Calibre I always get a User account Control warning popup stating "do you want to allow .... from an unkown publisher to make changes to this computer?" message.
jjjconnon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 03:45 PM   #10
Starson17
Wizard
Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.
 
Posts: 4,004
Karma: 177841
Join Date: Dec 2009
Device: WinMo: IPAQ; Android: HTC HD2, Archos 7o; Java:Gravity T
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
Yes, that's a cannot drop symbol. Strange, I don't know of any reason why that should be happening? Any one else seeing this?
No. Windows Vista. I did a few drag drops on clean 06.43 before switching to new Add book code, then several hundred. The new code should have no effect - it doesn't change your drag drop code.
Starson17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 05:09 PM   #11
banjomike
Addict
banjomike ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.banjomike ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.banjomike ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.banjomike ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.banjomike ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.banjomike ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.banjomike ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.banjomike ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.banjomike ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.banjomike ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.banjomike ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
banjomike's Avatar
 
Posts: 302
Karma: 397404
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: UK
Device: PRS-505 Red,DSlibris,nook Glow,nook Simple rooted,nook HD+,Moon+,Zinio
No problems with 6.43 in XP-SP3.
banjomike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 12:59 AM   #12
jjjconnon
Junior Member
jjjconnon began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 9
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Near Chicago
Device: Sony PRS-505
drag and Drop

Did some more looking, found I had the Privilege level setting for the shortcut, under the Compatibility Tab set to yes for run as an administrator. Win 7 will NOT allow a drag and drop from a lower order access control (Windows explorer) to a higher order window (Calibre as configured above). I changed the tab setting and am able to "Drag and Drop."

Thanks for taking the time to look at this issue!!
jjjconnon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drag 'n' Drop Perkin Calibre 17 10-06-2010 12:46 PM
Drag and drop suggestion AprilHare Calibre 1 01-16-2010 11:00 AM
Drag-n-drop to a 500? DrMoze Sony Reader 1 10-21-2009 05:43 PM
Drag and Drop of Folders iain_benson Calibre 1 01-24-2009 03:13 PM
Drag and Drop not working mazzeltjes Calibre 2 01-15-2009 06:32 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:00 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.