Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-26-2010, 10:40 PM   #1
guyanonymous
Guru
guyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud of
 
Posts: 692
Karma: 27532
Join Date: Dec 2007
Device: Ebookwise 1150 / 1200
If Calibre can't find the database...

I noticed that if calibre can't find the database (I had that USB drive turned off) it actually 'loses' the database from it's memory. That is, once the drive was turned back on, it didn't find the database again, but rather had a new default entry.

Would it make sense that in this type of situation a) calibre gave you a warning and b)gave you the choice of continuing with a new default database, or of exiting immediately (and not erasing the currently unavailable location)?

Or am I missing something/doing something wrong here?
guyanonymous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 12:51 AM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,435
Karma: 5383257
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
You can change the library location in the preferences. The reason it automatically changes location is that calibre must have *a* library to work, so if it can't find the old one, it creates a bew empty one in a default location
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Advertisement
Old 02-27-2010, 02:38 AM   #3
guyanonymous
Guru
guyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud of
 
Posts: 692
Karma: 27532
Join Date: Dec 2007
Device: Ebookwise 1150 / 1200
Perhaps offer the following 3 options if a database can't be found:

1) shut down and change nothing (allow you to fix the problem in the future, reboot if necessary, etc)
2) rescan for the database (allowing you to turn that HD/network location on)
3) continue and create a new database in the default location (the current option)

It took me a minute to figure out what had happened when my 'event' happened, with a tiny bit of panic involved. Once the problem is determined, sure it's an easy fix, but I'm thinking it would be nice to avoid those moments completely in the future.

Not something that will stress me out now, but perhaps something to consider for the future...
guyanonymous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 10:34 AM   #4
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,252
Karma: 6020307
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by guyanonymous View Post
Perhaps offer the following 3 options if a database can't be found:

1) shut down and change nothing (allow you to fix the problem in the future, reboot if necessary, etc)
2) rescan for the database (allowing you to turn that HD/network location on)
3) continue and create a new database in the default location (the current option)

It took me a minute to figure out what had happened when my 'event' happened, with a tiny bit of panic involved. Once the problem is determined, sure it's an easy fix, but I'm thinking it would be nice to avoid those moments completely in the future.

Not something that will stress me out now, but perhaps something to consider for the future...
I realize that Calibre can not always know what kind of device the Library is stored upon (re: item 2).
Having a "What to do" option, sort of like a reverse of what Windows (gasp) auto-play does when a removable media is inserted. An "Always Ask" for the folk that run multiple libraries
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 12:37 PM   #5
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,435
Karma: 5383257
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
I suppose that may be worth doing. Open a ticket please, so I dont forget.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 02:02 PM   #6
guyanonymous
Guru
guyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud of
 
Posts: 692
Karma: 27532
Join Date: Dec 2007
Device: Ebookwise 1150 / 1200
Kovid - I created a ticket, but don't see it showing up. Is that because it must be approved first? Or did I make a mistake in creating my ticket?

D
guyanonymous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 03:11 PM   #7
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,435
Karma: 5383257
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Your ticket is here

http://bugs.calibre-ebook.com/ticket/5014
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 03:48 PM   #8
guyanonymous
Guru
guyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud ofguyanonymous has much to be proud of
 
Posts: 692
Karma: 27532
Join Date: Dec 2007
Device: Ebookwise 1150 / 1200
Thanks...I guess I was keying in something wrong on the ticket/bug search list.
guyanonymous is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calibre and Kobo database crowez Calibre 1 10-15-2010 09:24 PM
Calibre Database Creation RockstarPenguin Calibre 0 07-08-2010 01:17 PM
Using SQL against Calibre database jjansen Calibre 3 03-29-2010 11:14 AM
HELP! Please Please Please! (Calibre Database Crash) Abisha Calibre 7 06-10-2009 11:54 PM
Possible to get tags from the calibre database? GRiker Calibre 4 05-04-2009 03:30 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:02 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.