Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-29-2010, 08:46 AM   #1
Arco Witter
Member
Arco Witter began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 21
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2010
Device: iRex iLiad
Calibre and Wacom Intuos only works with pen, not with mouse

(Sorry that my first post in this forum is a problem...)

Windows Vista latest SP, Calibre 0.6.36
NOT using Aero

The gui of latest Windows version 0.6.36 (and previous one) is not responsive to mouse pointer as it should.
Even when the program is idle, when I place the mouse cursor e.g. on a button on top (the ribbon), I do see the yellow hint window, but when I click, it just looks like the list of books is (hidden!) placed over the complete gui.
I have 340 books in library. When the list is on the bottom and I click a button on top, a book is selected.
That book is exactly the book that would be on the clicked position when the listing is imaginary made larger to the top.

Since there are no shortcuts of all features, this renders the program completely unuseful. So I hope someone can help!

btw: I just noticed that the first button on the ribbon does work! ('Add books')

Last edited by Arco Witter; 01-29-2010 at 08:54 AM.
Arco Witter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 11:12 AM   #2
Arco Witter
Member
Arco Witter began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 21
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2010
Device: iRex iLiad
One thought - it seems that the program does not work with a Wacom Intuos tablet with mouse.
Using Logitech mouse does work. Using a pen with the Wacom also works.

This is the first application I know of that does not work with the Wacom Intuos mouse
Arco Witter is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Old 01-31-2010, 04:43 AM   #3
nongrant
Junior Member
nongrant began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 1
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2009
Device: sony PRS-300
Thank you! I have been trying to solve this problem for a few days and never thought of using the stylus instead of the mouse.
nongrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 06:00 AM   #4
Arco Witter
Member
Arco Witter began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 21
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2010
Device: iRex iLiad
Quote:
Originally Posted by nongrant View Post
Thank you! I have been trying to solve this problem for a few days and never thought of using the stylus instead of the mouse.
Glad to make someone happy - though, it is strange that the mouse does not work correctly.
Especially since the hints are correct, so the program knows the exact location of the mouse pointer...

Within two days some karma increase :P Bound for more
Arco Witter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2010, 06:27 AM   #5
ElLoco
Junior Member
ElLoco began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 8
Karma: 12
Join Date: Jul 2010
Device: booq
I can tell that with Wacom Graphire I have the same problem that Arco Witter. The stylus works well, but not the mouse. The same problem happen with a few other applications (only two that I remember)

Last edited by ElLoco; 07-06-2010 at 06:31 AM.
ElLoco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2010, 11:06 AM   #6
alanmexico
Junior Member
alanmexico began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mexico
Device: Sony Daily Edition
Maybe a driver issue. Have you tried downloading the latest and reinstalling the Wacom driver?

I am using the Graphire 2 on Windows 7 Ultimate (aero on). The mouse and pen work fine in calibre.
alanmexico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 01:48 PM   #7
ElLoco
Junior Member
ElLoco began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 8
Karma: 12
Join Date: Jul 2010
Device: booq
I have the last drivers. My Wacom Graphire it's very old. But work. I'm thinking to buy a new model. But this works fine with everything, except a pair of programs.
ElLoco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 10:13 AM   #8
potestus
Enthusiast
potestus began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 27
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2010
Device: sony prs-600
I Get the Same problem

In fact the intuit Pen is really acurate

It is a pain that the mouse doesnt work

This is the only app that I cant get to work Using Intuos 3 with latest software
Regards
potestus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 10:19 AM   #9
Starson17
Wizard
Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.
 
Posts: 4,004
Karma: 177841
Join Date: Dec 2009
Device: WinMo: IPAQ; Android: HTC HD2, Archos 7o; Java:Gravity T
Quote:
Originally Posted by potestus View Post
It is a pain that the mouse doesnt work
Have you asked Wacom? They must have some info on how their mouse interaction with programs differs from that of other mice.
Starson17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 02:27 PM   #10
ElLoco
Junior Member
ElLoco began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 8
Karma: 12
Join Date: Jul 2010
Device: booq
I have use the setting wacom program and put the mouse to work as pen for Calibre program specifically , and reduced the work tablet area. I can use Calibre in that way.
I hope this can be useful to others.
ElLoco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 10:17 AM   #11
potestus
Enthusiast
potestus began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 27
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2010
Device: sony prs-600
Wacom works with settings above..-

Thanks

Still not very comfortable but it seems to be getting the message

This is the only program I have have to set exceptions.
potestus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 05:10 PM   #12
T3_reader
Enthusiast
T3_reader began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 24
Karma: 10
Join Date: Apr 2009
Device: IPad & Android phone
I have been using Calibre for over a year now and hated every minute of it. It is a great conversion tool but getting to select an option in any of the menus was incredibly slow and could take up to 2 or 3 minutes of trying and fooling around. I searched the web but never found any threads about this. In the end I used it only if I really had to convert an ebook for use on my Palm. I actually deleted my Calibre library a week ago and reverted to my own library setup.

Today I accidentally used my Wacom stylus instead of the mouse and hey presto, the application is responsive and reacts to key presses immediately. If only I had found this thread 12 months ago!
T3_reader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 04:43 AM   #13
potestus
Enthusiast
potestus began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 27
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2010
Device: sony prs-600
Yes it is better initially but if you stay there you need to work hard to keep it in focus -

I need to keep clicking off the page to get focus back

There has also been a recent update to the Intuos Driver..

This is the worst part of an otherwise brilliant package

Regards
potestus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DR1000 Use of the Wacom pen and touch screen to control a PC? marcel06 iRex 8 11-22-2010 04:25 PM
Pen bought from Amazon works great with the 800 HansTWN iRex 6 07-26-2010 04:53 AM
Wacom Cross Executive Pen Adam B. iRex 48 01-08-2010 05:42 AM
Wacom Pad when pen in bay... ppxnouse iRex 11 10-17-2008 10:36 AM
Wacom 'Slim Pen' JustADecoy iRex 2 10-25-2007 12:05 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:35 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.