Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-25-2009, 08:17 AM   #1
arjay99
Junior Member
arjay99 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2009
Device: Kindle DX and Kindle 2
Installing Calibre on MAC

I downloaded the DMG file for 0.6.29.

Every time I want to use Calibre, I have to install it from the DMG. I cannot open Calibre from Finder, nor does the book icon open the application.

I am using Snow Leopard.

What do I need to do?

Thanks for your help.
arjay99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 09:38 AM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,356
Karma: 4961459
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Try the new build linked to in this thread http://www.mobileread.com/forums/showthread.php?t=66523
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 11:23 AM   #3
JoelMBenge
Member
JoelMBenge began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 20
Karma: 12
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Baltimore, MD
Device: B&N Nook
I have the same issue. I can run it once after copying the .app over. If I close it, however, I have to copy a new one over and overwrite the current copy in Applications. I have cmd-clicked on the .app and selected "Show Package Contents". You can navigate to and execute console.app directly. But it doesn't seem to open fully. That is, it's doesn't appear in the running programs and doesn't present the OSX application menus.

Sorry I can't be of any more explicit help.

I have downloaded version 0.60.29 from the link provided.
JoelMBenge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 12:23 PM   #4
akwant
closed
akwant has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.akwant has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.akwant has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.
 
Posts: 116
Karma: 278
Join Date: Feb 2009
Device: ---
this is not much information to work with so:

open Terminal in /Applications/Utilities/

and input this line

/Applications/calibre.app/Contents/MacOS/calibre-debug -g

let us know what calibre says.
akwant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 12:38 PM   #5
JoelMBenge
Member
JoelMBenge began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 20
Karma: 12
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Baltimore, MD
Device: B&N Nook
Doesn't appear to like that command.

I assume you meant a space before -debug

daxiweida:~ joel$ /Applications/calibre.app/Contents/MacOS/calibre -debug -g
Usage: main.py [opts] [path_to_ebook]

Launch the main calibre Graphical User Interface and optionally add the ebook at
path_to_ebook to the database.


Whenever you pass arguments to main.py that have spaces in them, enclose the arguments in quotation marks.

main.py: error: no such option: -d


Now, if I simply run /Applications/calibre.app/Contents/MacOS/calibre, the Calibre GUI comes up just fine. Seems , whenever I do something in the GUI, in Terminal, I get

link hasn't been detected!
link hasn't been detected!


Of course, I have to keep Terminal open, else the Calibre GUI closes as well.

Ran with -verbose mode and opened a few books

daxiweida:~ joel$ /Applications/calibre.app/Contents/MacOS/calibre -v
link hasn't been detected!
link hasn't been detected!
link hasn't been detected!
link hasn't been detected!
InputFormatPlugin: EPUB Input running
on /Users/joel/Documents/eBooks/Sam Landstrom/MetaGame (8)/MetaGame - Sam Landstrom.epub
Found HTML cover content/calibre_title_page.html
link hasn't been detected!
link hasn't been detected!
InputFormatPlugin: EPUB Input running
on /Users/joel/Documents/eBooks/R. T. Bradley/The outlaws of the border (3)/The outlaws of the border - R. T. Bradley.epub
daxiweida:~ joel$
JoelMBenge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 02:59 PM   #6
Krystian Galaj
Guru
Krystian Galaj can tame squirrels without the assistance of a chair or a whip.Krystian Galaj can tame squirrels without the assistance of a chair or a whip.Krystian Galaj can tame squirrels without the assistance of a chair or a whip.Krystian Galaj can tame squirrels without the assistance of a chair or a whip.Krystian Galaj can tame squirrels without the assistance of a chair or a whip.Krystian Galaj can tame squirrels without the assistance of a chair or a whip.Krystian Galaj can tame squirrels without the assistance of a chair or a whip.Krystian Galaj can tame squirrels without the assistance of a chair or a whip.Krystian Galaj can tame squirrels without the assistance of a chair or a whip.Krystian Galaj can tame squirrels without the assistance of a chair or a whip.Krystian Galaj can tame squirrels without the assistance of a chair or a whip.
 
Posts: 820
Karma: 11012
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Device: Bookeen Cybook
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoelMBenge View Post
Doesn't appear to like that command.

I assume you meant a space before -debug
I think your assumption was incorrect.
Krystian Galaj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 03:42 PM   #7
JoelMBenge
Member
JoelMBenge began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 20
Karma: 12
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Baltimore, MD
Device: B&N Nook
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krystian Galaj View Post
I think your assumption was incorrect.
Even if it was, the command as provided didn't work.

daxiweida:~ joel$ /Applications/calibre.app/Contents/MacOS/calibre-debug -g
-bash: /Applications/calibre.app/Contents/MacOS/calibre-debug: No such file or directory
JoelMBenge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2009, 02:23 PM   #8
JoelMBenge
Member
JoelMBenge began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 20
Karma: 12
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Baltimore, MD
Device: B&N Nook
Just to follow up on my issue. The latest update seems to have corrected this and I am able to launch just fine now.
JoelMBenge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 01:08 AM   #9
arjay99
Junior Member
arjay99 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2009
Device: Kindle DX and Kindle 2
Still cannot get Calibre to work on OS6

I tried the terminal line and it did not work.
C alibre app is not in Finder.

I have tried 6.31, but still it does not work. If I eject the DMG after "installing", it still does not work.

I have no idea what else to do.
arjay99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 01:21 AM   #10
arjay99
Junior Member
arjay99 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2009
Device: Kindle DX and Kindle 2
Boy, do I feel dumb. I did not read that I had to drag the Calibre app to the applications folder. Once I followed directions, it worked.
arjay99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 02:39 PM   #11
Foxed
Junior Member
Foxed began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 1
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2010
Device: iphone
Downloaded Calibre v0.6.44 dragged to Apps folder. On start up Calibre allowed initial configuration, then quit. When opening Calibre it quits on start up! Terminal window returns the following:
Quote:
link hasn't been detected!
link hasn't been detected!
Qt: internal: -108: Error ATSUMeasureTextImage text/qfontengine_mac.mm: 1136
Qt: internal: -108: Error ATSUMeasureTextImage text/qfontengine_mac.mm: 1136
Segmentation fault
The advice is clean up the font cache, this I have done using FontNuke v1.1.6. I have also repaired permissions.

Calibre continues to quit on start up any ideas?

Thanks to anyone that can help.
Note: computer running OSX 10.6 on Intel Core 2 Duo

Last edited by Foxed; 03-08-2010 at 02:42 PM. Reason: version numbers
Foxed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 02:24 PM   #12
jerrylee
Junior Member
jerrylee began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2012
Device: Ipad
I can't even get the dmg file to install, how did you do it? I dragged into the Apps folder but when I click on it the same error message "not recognized" appears.
jerrylee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 04:49 PM   #13
GRiker
Comparer of the Ephemeris
GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 1,497
Karma: 424627
Join Date: Mar 2009
Device: iPad
Download the DMG file from http://calibre-ebook.com/download. Double-click to open the DMG, then drag the calibre app to the applications folder icon.
GRiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
mac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing calibre on Mac OS X 10.4.11 (Tiger) symmsie Calibre 1 01-03-2010 07:21 PM
difficulty installing OI with a mac on my bebook yvesleon OpenInkpot 16 07-22-2009 06:23 PM
installing calibre on JJ: Help! Bierius Calibre 11 06-17-2009 04:56 PM
Problem installing Calibre Derry Calibre 1 12-23-2008 12:57 PM
Installing Sony software on Mac with Crossover kezza Sony Reader 3 01-28-2008 01:09 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:24 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.