Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-19-2009, 08:39 PM   #1
RavenZwei
Junior Member
RavenZwei began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2009
Device: Sony PRS-30
PRS-300 not recognized by Calibre

I just recently bought my PRS-300, so I am kind of new to this. When I originally bought it, I installed the Sony Library Software, but disliked it almost immediately. I search around the internet and came across Calibre, which seemed to do exactly what I want.

I installed it, but have been unable to get the software to recognize my reader. I once again turned to the internet, but was unable to come up with any concrete information about the 300. I would be eternally grateful if someone could help me out here.
RavenZwei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 09:19 PM   #2
itimpi
Wizard
itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,072
Karma: 777825
Join Date: Nov 2008
Device: Sony PRS-950, iphone/ipad (Marvin/iBooks/QuickReader)
Are you sure it is not being recognised? It is quite likely that it appears but as another Sony model with which it shares the device ID value.
itimpi is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Old 12-19-2009, 09:31 PM   #3
Unkle Bob
Junior Member
Unkle Bob began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Device: sony 300
We aren't going to be able to help you much as you didn't give us any info such as symptoms, error messages, etc to go on. I have the Sony 600 and Calibre works great for me.
Offhand, the only thing I can think of is to make sure you are closing down Sony Reader Library before you bring up Calibre. Calibre cannot transfer stuff if Sony Reader Library is up. This is mentioned in the Calibre instructions.

Whether or not Sony or Calibre are up you should see USB drive letters on your computer when you plug your 300 into a usb on your computer. Your 300 mounts Removable Storage Devices (usb drives), one of which is where the books download from Sony through and transfer through from Calibre to your physical book reader device. In my attachment you can see that my 600 mounted 4 drives: I, J, L and Installer for Reader. You will probably only have 2 drives, as my 600 mounts a drive for each of the 2 card media slots. If you don't see drives then your problem is bigger than Calibre. If you do, then make sure Sony Reader Library is shut down and only then bring up Calibre.
Attached Files
File Type: doc Drives.doc (69.5 KB, 124 views)
Unkle Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 10:03 PM   #4
RavenZwei
Junior Member
RavenZwei began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2009
Device: Sony PRS-30
The 300 is showing up under my computer as a removable disk. I have Sony Library closed and when I click on "Send to Device" on Calibre, I get "Cannot Send: No Device Connected". This is that's I get when I copy the error to the clipboard:


ERROR: No device: Cannot send: No device is connected

I'm running the latest version of Calibre (0.6.29). As I said, I only just installed Calibre. I read the user manual, and it said that it should detect my reader when I plug it in, but it does not. I also did some searching on the internet, and it said something about making the drivers for the reader connect to Calibre, but I couldn't quite figure out how I was suppose to do that.

Anyway, I think that's about all I have regarding my problem. I hope I can figure it out, lol.
RavenZwei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 10:26 PM   #5
Unkle Bob
Junior Member
Unkle Bob began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Device: sony 300
Wish I could help

I am running windows xp with the latest updates installed. When Calibre starts I get a balloon above the Calibre icon on the windows task bar saying it detected my Sony reader touch edition (600). I did not have to load any drivers or anything, it just worked right off the bat. I hope someone out there has the tech knowledge or experience to help you.
Unkle Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 10:43 PM   #6
Unkle Bob
Junior Member
Unkle Bob began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Device: sony 300
Uninstall, Delete Folder and ReInstall?

Have you tried uninstalling Calibre, deleting the Calibre directory and then reinstalling it? The link below is one you may have seen. It goes into uninstalling the drivers, which is the kind of thing that is a little scary and confusing if you have never done it before.


http://calibre-ebook.com/download_windows
Unkle Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 11:43 PM   #7
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,135
Karma: 5381911
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Goto Preferences->Advanced in calibre and click the "debug device detection" button (make sure your reader is connected first)
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 11:57 PM   #8
RavenZwei
Junior Member
RavenZwei began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2009
Device: Sony PRS-30
Sorry for the late reply, things have been hectic for me. Here's what happens when I run the "Debug Device Detection" button:


Traceback (most recent call last):
File "site-packages\calibre\gui2\dialogs\config\device_debug. py", line 41, in debug
File "site-packages\calibre\devices\__init__.py", line 49, in debug
File "site-packages\wmi.py", line 169, in <module>
File "site-packages\win32com\client\__init__.py", line 73, in GetObject
File "site-packages\win32com\client\__init__.py", line 88, in Moniker
com_error: (-2147217407, 'OLE error 0x80041001', None, None)
RavenZwei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 11:06 AM   #9
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,135
Karma: 5381911
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Try the build linked to here

http://www.mobileread.com/forums/sho...&highlight=wmi
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 05:16 AM   #10
Sullivan
Connoisseur
Sullivan began at the beginning.
 
Sullivan's Avatar
 
Posts: 65
Karma: 36
Join Date: Jan 2010
Device: none
I confirm the link offered by kovidgoyal worked for me on a friend's 300. Thank you!
Sullivan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calibre 0.7 and PRS-300 grizedale Calibre 10 06-07-2010 05:06 AM
PRS-500 not recognized by Calibre kenlkelley Calibre 5 02-28-2010 03:25 AM
PRS-500 not recognized by Calibre? TheMooch Calibre 29 12-15-2009 09:29 AM
Calibre and the NEW PRS-300 Scarpad Calibre 11 10-28-2009 08:24 AM
PRS 700 not recognized on Calibre 0.4.140 + Linux eyp Calibre 4 02-26-2009 02:43 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:15 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.