Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-09-2009, 04:27 AM   #1
davebalme
Enthusiast
davebalme began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 37
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Yorkshire
Device: Pocketbook 360, Ipad, Kobo Wireless, Archos 70b & 80G9. And a Kobo Arc
Metadata

I'm using Calibre to convert a file and edit the metadata, but when I transfer the file to my 360 either through Calibre or manually from the Calibre library the file information displayed on the device is not as typed in the program. Am I doing something wrong?
davebalme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009, 04:32 AM   #2
itimpi
Wizard
itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,105
Karma: 780247
Join Date: Nov 2008
Device: Sony PRS-950, iphone/ipad (Marvin/iBooks/QuickReader)
What format book?
itimpi is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Advertisement
Old 12-09-2009, 08:04 AM   #3
Manichean
Wizard
Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!
 
Manichean's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,130
Karma: 80520
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Device: Cybook Gen3
Quote:
Originally Posted by davebalme View Post
I'm using Calibre to convert a file and edit the metadata, but when I transfer the file to my 360 either through Calibre or manually from the Calibre library the file information displayed on the device is not as typed in the program. Am I doing something wrong?
It sounds like you convert first and edit the metadata second. You need to first edit the metadata to what you want, then convert.
Manichean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009, 08:17 AM   #4
user_none
Sigil & calibre developer
user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
user_none's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,473
Karma: 1053245
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Florida, USA
Device: Nook STR
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manichean View Post
It sounds like you convert first and edit the metadata second. You need to first edit the metadata to what you want, then convert.
Not true. Send to Device and Save to Disk will write the metadata to the file as part of their functioning. Converting will also write the current metadata to the file.

*Edit: Spoke to soon without thinking about it. Manichean is partly right. Some formats, I believe FB2 and RB, do not have a metadata writer component. It will have to be converted to have the metadata changed. It is only written when the file is created, it cannot be updated afterwards at this time.

It sounds like you are using a format that does not support the metadata you want to see. Not all formats support metadata and each format only supports certain metadata attributes.

Last edited by user_none; 12-09-2009 at 08:25 AM.
user_none is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009, 10:27 AM   #5
davebalme
Enthusiast
davebalme began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 37
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Yorkshire
Device: Pocketbook 360, Ipad, Kobo Wireless, Archos 70b & 80G9. And a Kobo Arc
Quote:
Originally Posted by itimpi View Post
What format book?
PDF or lit to FB2. And I edit the metadata before converting and the error isn't consistent in that some files will show correctly.
davebalme is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Metadata? nessin Calibre 5 10-19-2010 02:48 PM
Metadata jgray ePub 1 10-01-2010 09:20 AM
metadata formacmeg ePub 7 09-09-2010 07:35 PM
Metadata crutledge Sigil 2 09-09-2010 07:50 AM
metadata.db same? TallMomof2 Calibre 2 06-24-2009 07:25 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:21 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.