Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-10-2009, 05:08 PM   #1
estrovichm
Junior Member
estrovichm began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2009
Device: Sony PRS-505
Calibre Unable to fetch Metadata from the server

My computer is using a proxy script i nthe form of

AutoConfigURL = http://****.com/naproxy.pac

when I start Calibre in the Debug mode I get the following error:

link hasn't been detected!
link hasn't been detected!
Using proxies: {'ftp': ':', 'http': ':'}
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "calibre\gui2\update.pyo", line 21, in run
File "mechanize\_mechanize.pyo", line 209, in open
File "mechanize\_mechanize.pyo", line 236, in _mech_open
File "mechanize\_opener.pyo", line 191, in open
File "urllib2.pyo", line 401, in _open
File "urllib2.pyo", line 361, in _call_chain
File "mechanize\_http.pyo", line 729, in http_open
File "mechanize\_http.pyo", line 685, in do_open
File "httplib.pyo", line 656, in __init__
File "httplib.pyo", line 668, in _set_hostport
InvalidURL: nonnumeric port: ''
Job: 1 Get device information finished
No details available.
Job: 2 Get list of books on device finished
No details available.
Using proxies: {'ftp': ':', 'http': ':'}
Using proxies: {'ftp': ':', 'http': ':'}
link hasn't been detected!
link hasn't been detected!
estrovichm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2009, 05:33 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,991
Karma: 5036765
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Unfortunately calibre doesn't have a way to manually specify proxy information if autodetection fails.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Old 09-10-2009, 05:40 PM   #3
estrovichm
Junior Member
estrovichm began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2009
Device: Sony PRS-505
I've brought my laptop home, and disabled the proxy script in my internet explorer but I still get the same error ? any ideas what else can I try ?
estrovichm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2009, 07:11 PM   #4
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,991
Karma: 5036765
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
In the next release, I'll have calibre ignore invalid proxies, that should fix your problem, at least at home.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2009, 09:14 PM   #5
estrovichm
Junior Member
estrovichm began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2009
Device: Sony PRS-505
Thanks for your help.
estrovichm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2009, 04:00 AM   #6
DblD
Junior Member
DblD began at the beginning.
 
DblD's Avatar
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: PRS-505, K2
Having same issues with both fetching of news and meta data resulting in :
"httplib.InvalidURL: nonnumeric port: '3128/'"

As far as I can tell the proxy is not being used at present by my system i.e. it set to Direct Internet Connection" in network proxy preferences.

Running :
Calibre 0.6.24
Ubuntu 9.04

How does one find out where/when Calibre gathers this proxy information for proxy settings?
DblD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2009, 09:44 AM   #7
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,991
Karma: 5036765
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
on linux proxy information is fetched from the environment variable http_proxy
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 12:46 AM   #8
DblD
Junior Member
DblD began at the beginning.
 
DblD's Avatar
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: PRS-505, K2
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
on linux proxy information is fetched from the environment variable http_proxy
I know this is a silly, Q but does Calibre it read http_proxy env. var. on every start?
Here is my problem, I can confirm that the http_proxy var is empty, yet when Calibre starts it reads it out.. also i chked usual suspects who set this var..
DblD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 01:02 AM   #9
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,991
Karma: 5036765
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
yes it reads it on every start.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fetch Metadata from Server function stopped working Lesley8844 Calibre 16 09-17-2010 10:22 AM
Why it does not automatically fetch metadata? clemens14 Calibre 9 07-09-2010 10:13 AM
Unable to fetch any news charks Calibre 4 06-14-2010 05:46 PM
Feature Request - cover browse in the "Fetch Metadata from server" function nathander13 Calibre 1 01-30-2010 02:11 PM
Fetch cover image from server no longer working ki5ck Calibre 2 02-09-2009 07:09 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:48 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.