Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-31-2009, 08:30 PM   #1
newpharoah
Junior Member
newpharoah began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Device: iPod Touch Gen 2
Calibre launches in OSX Tiger then closes

Hi,

I have been using Calibre successfully on a Snow Leopard Mac and am very impressed by the work that's gone into it.

Yesterday I downloaded Calibre for my wife's slightly older iMac still running Tiger. It installs from the dmg okay, but when double-clicked, the bouncing icon appears on the dock, then just as quickly closes and disappears from the dock. No crash as such, it just won't stay launched. The Force Quit display window shows no Calibre process running.

Has anyone else experienced this?
Any thoughts?
newpharoah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 12:05 AM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,338
Karma: 5382313
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
post the log from Console.app that will tell us what's wrong
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Advertisement
Old 11-01-2009, 07:22 AM   #3
kbsymanz
Junior Member
kbsymanz began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Philippines
Device: PRS-505
I can confirm the same problem on my Macbook Pro runnning Tiger. Here is the output from the log as requested.
-----
Usage: main.py [opts] [path_to_ebook]

Launch the main calibre Graphical User Interface and optionally add the ebook at
path_to_ebook to the database.


Whenever you pass arguments to main.py that have spaces in them, enclose the arguments in quotation marks.

main.py: error: no such option: -p
-----

Thanks for any suggestions.

Kurt
kbsymanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 08:02 AM   #4
expertdecisions
Junior Member
expertdecisions began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 1
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: hanlin V3
Same in Leopard

Yesterday I updated to version 6.20 and now it crashes. I tested in several Macs with several versions of OS (From Tiger to Snow Leopard) and its crashing in all of them

Unfortunately I trashed the previous version of Calibre so now I can't use it.

This is my syslog:

Code:
Nov  1 12:48:27 mbp-alberto-3 [0x0-0x35035].net.kovidgoyal.calibre[369]: Traceback (most recent call last):
Nov  1 12:48:27 mbp-alberto-3 [0x0-0x35035].net.kovidgoyal.calibre[369]:   File "/Applications/calibre.app/Contents/Resources/__boot__.py", line 63, in <module>
Nov  1 12:48:27 mbp-alberto-3 [0x0-0x35035].net.kovidgoyal.calibre[369]:     _run('main.py')
Nov  1 12:48:27 mbp-alberto-3 [0x0-0x35035].net.kovidgoyal.calibre[369]:   File "/Applications/calibre.app/Contents/Resources/__boot__.py", line 29, in _run
Nov  1 12:48:27 mbp-alberto-3 [0x0-0x35035].net.kovidgoyal.calibre[369]:     execfile(path, globals(), globals())
Nov  1 12:48:27 mbp-alberto-3 [0x0-0x35035].net.kovidgoyal.calibre[369]:   File "/Applications/calibre.app/Contents/Resources/main.py", line 1946, in <module>
Nov  1 12:48:27 mbp-alberto-3 [0x0-0x35035].net.kovidgoyal.calibre[369]:     sys.exit(main())
Nov  1 12:48:27 mbp-alberto-3 [0x0-0x35035].net.kovidgoyal.calibre[369]:   File "/Applications/calibre.app/Contents/Resources/main.py", line 1909, in main
Nov  1 12:48:27 mbp-alberto-3 [0x0-0x35035].net.kovidgoyal.calibre[369]:     app, opts, args, actions = init_qt(args)
Nov  1 12:48:27 mbp-alberto-3 [0x0-0x35035].net.kovidgoyal.calibre[369]:   File "/Applications/calibre.app/Contents/Resources/main.py", line 1828, in init_qt
Nov  1 12:48:27 mbp-alberto-3 [0x0-0x35035].net.kovidgoyal.calibre[369]:     opts, args = parser.parse_args(args)
Nov  1 12:48:27 mbp-alberto-3 [0x0-0x35035].net.kovidgoyal.calibre[369]:   File "optparse.pyo", line 1380, in parse_args
Nov  1 12:48:27 mbp-alberto-3 [0x0-0x35035].net.kovidgoyal.calibre[369]:   File "calibre/utils/config.pyo", line 102, in error
Nov  1 12:48:27 mbp-alberto-3 [0x0-0x35035].net.kovidgoyal.calibre[369]:   File "optparse.pyo", line 1561, in error
Nov  1 12:48:27 mbp-alberto-3 [0x0-0x35035].net.kovidgoyal.calibre[369]:   File "optparse.pyo", line 1581, in print_usage
Nov  1 12:48:27 mbp-alberto-3 [0x0-0x35035].net.kovidgoyal.calibre[369]: UnicodeEncodeError: 'ascii' codec can't encode character u'\xf3' in position 214: ordinal not in range(128)
Nov  1 12:48:27 mbp-alberto-3 calibre[369]: calibre Error
Nov  1 12:48:27 mbp-alberto-3 calibre[369]: calibre Error\nAn unexpected error has occurred during execution of the main script\n\nUnicodeEncodeError: 'ascii' codec can't encode character u'\xf3' in position 214: ordinal not in range(128)
Nov  1 12:48:32 mbp-alberto-3 com.apple.launchd.peruser.502[201] ([0x0-0x35035].net.kovidgoyal.calibre[369]): Exited with exit code: 255
When I launch calibre in a Mac in which calibre is running for the first time the output of syslog is different and also it does no create the Calibre preferences in ~/Library/Preferences/:

Code:
Nov  1 13:20:43 mailbackup [0x0-0x15015].net.kovidgoyal.calibre[1224]: Usage: main.py [opts] [path_to_ebook]
Nov  1 13:20:43 mailbackup [0x0-0x15015].net.kovidgoyal.calibre[1224]: Launch the main calibre Graphical User Interface and optionally add the ebook at
Nov  1 13:20:43 mailbackup [0x0-0x15015].net.kovidgoyal.calibre[1224]: path_to_ebook to the database.
Nov  1 13:20:43 mailbackup [0x0-0x15015].net.kovidgoyal.calibre[1224]: Whenever you pass arguments to main.py that have spaces in them, enclose the arguments in quotation marks.
Nov  1 13:20:43 mailbackup [0x0-0x15015].net.kovidgoyal.calibre[1224]: main.py: error: no such option: -p
Nov  1 13:20:43 mailbackup com.apple.launchd.peruser.501[213] ([0x0-0x15015].net.kovidgoyal.calibre[1224]): Exited with exit code: 2
Running from terminal, it launchs the graphical interface and everything seems to be OK:

mbp-alberto-3:log admin$ calibre --with-library ~/ebooks
Using library at /Users/admin/ebooks
link hasn't been detected!
link hasn't been detected!
Upgrading database to version 8...

Last edited by expertdecisions; 11-01-2009 at 08:31 AM. Reason: New info added
expertdecisions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 12:06 PM   #5
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,338
Karma: 5382313
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
there was a bug in the calibre OS X build i uploaded a fixed build more than 24 hours ago. Just re-download and you should be fine (make sure you actually re-download and dont get a cached version)
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 06:23 PM   #6
kbsymanz
Junior Member
kbsymanz began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Philippines
Device: PRS-505
It Works Now

Thanks for your quick response. Works great now.
kbsymanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 09:15 PM   #7
newpharoah
Junior Member
newpharoah began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Device: iPod Touch Gen 2
Same here, many thanks, working perfectly!
newpharoah is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Tiger OSX and Kobo Application *reg* Kobo Reader 5 07-14-2010 06:59 PM
Calibre doesn't start on OSX Mark Bragg Calibre 3 01-14-2010 11:35 PM
Installing calibre on Mac OS X 10.4.11 (Tiger) symmsie Calibre 1 01-03-2010 08:21 PM
Phantom python processes left when Calibre closes tfarrell Calibre 4 07-30-2009 12:49 AM
OSX Tiger and ad hoc connection to iLiad perkata iRex 0 06-05-2008 08:25 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:20 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.