Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-22-2009, 08:27 AM   #1
bobsi18
Enthusiast
bobsi18 began at the beginning.
 
bobsi18's Avatar
 
Posts: 36
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SE Victoria, Australia
Device: iPhone & Sony Pocket (& support for a Kobo Wifi)
Calibre won't open since updating

Hi, I updated Calibre to the latest version the day before yesterday. The first time I opened the program it worked fine, but since then I have been unable to open the program - when I double click on the icon, it says it is opening, but nothing happens. The computer doesn't crash etc, just nothing happens.

I tried re-installing the new version, and installing the old version, and in both cases I was able to use the program once, and then not again. I am using Mac OX10.5.8, any ideas?
bobsi18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 01:17 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,338
Karma: 5382313
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Try launching it from a terminal.app by running the command

calibre
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Advertisement
Old 10-23-2009, 08:45 AM   #3
bobsi18
Enthusiast
bobsi18 began at the beginning.
 
bobsi18's Avatar
 
Posts: 36
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SE Victoria, Australia
Device: iPhone & Sony Pocket (& support for a Kobo Wifi)
When I try and open from the terminal (using: open /Applications/calibre.app), I get the following error:

Quote:
LSOpenFromURLSpec() failed with error -10810 for the file /Applications/calibre.app.
bobsi18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 01:07 PM   #4
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,338
Karma: 5382313
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
And what output is present in Console.app when you try to launch calibre?
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 08:47 PM   #5
Diana495
Connoisseur
Diana495 can illuminate an eclipseDiana495 can illuminate an eclipseDiana495 can illuminate an eclipseDiana495 can illuminate an eclipseDiana495 can illuminate an eclipseDiana495 can illuminate an eclipseDiana495 can illuminate an eclipseDiana495 can illuminate an eclipseDiana495 can illuminate an eclipseDiana495 can illuminate an eclipseDiana495 can illuminate an eclipse
 
Posts: 80
Karma: 8320
Join Date: Apr 2009
Device: Ipod Touch
This has a happened a few times on my Mac OS X 10.5.8 as well. I had to delete the preference folder in the library and delete net.kovidgoyal.calibre.plist, then do a fresh install. Calibre usually works after that.

Is there a better solution?
Diana495 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 09:25 PM   #6
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,338
Karma: 5382313
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
I need the output from console.app to be able to tell you more.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2009, 06:19 AM   #7
nopanic
Junior Member
nopanic began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2007
Device: PRS 505
console Output

OS X 10.5.8 same problem here, i think. Since Version 0.6.19. 0.6.18 worked fine. Console output

24.10.09 11:11:34 [0x0-0x4f04f].net.kovidgoyal.calibre[497] Unknown option: -p
24.10.09 11:11:34 [0x0-0x4f04f].net.kovidgoyal.calibre[497] usage: /Applications/calibre.app/Contents/MacOS/python [option] ... [-c cmd | -m mod | file | -] [arg] ...
24.10.09 11:11:34 [0x0-0x4f04f].net.kovidgoyal.calibre[497] Try `python -h' for more information.
24.10.09 11:11:34 com.apple.launchd[99] ([0x0-0x4f04f].net.kovidgoyal.calibre[497]) Exited with exit code: 2

Oh, and removing the preferences didn't help, launching from the terminal helped, output:
link hasn't been detected!
link hasn't been detected!
but the program starts fine from the terminal, but not by doubleclicking

Last edited by nopanic; 10-24-2009 at 06:31 AM. Reason: more info
nopanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2009, 01:32 PM   #8
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,338
Karma: 5382313
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
That's just weird. Try editing the file

/Applications/calibre.app/Contents/Info.plist

ina text edirot

Find the line
<key>argv_emulation</key>

and change the next line from <true/> to <false/>
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2009, 02:04 PM   #9
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,338
Karma: 5382313
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Also it would be helpful if you could attach the file

/Applications/calibre.app/Contents/Info.plist

here. As far as I know, that error will only occur if this file has been corrupted.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2009, 02:55 PM   #10
nopanic
Junior Member
nopanic began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2007
Device: PRS 505
i've changed Applications/calibre.app/Contents/Info.plist, but calibre still starts only from the terminal. You can find the Info.plist attached.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Info.plist.zip (1.5 KB, 119 views)
nopanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2009, 03:03 PM   #11
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,338
Karma: 5382313
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Hmm, I'm at a loss. The Console output indicates that the launched executable is /Applications/calibre.app/Contents/MacOS/python

However, the Info.plist file correctly specifies /Applications/calibre.app/Contents/MacOS/calibre as the executable that should be launched. So I have no idea why Launch Services is launching python instead of calibre.

Try renaming /Applications/calibre.app/Contents/MacOS/python to /Applications/calibre.app/Contents/MacOS/python.disable
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2009, 03:13 PM   #12
nopanic
Junior Member
nopanic began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2007
Device: PRS 505
I've redownloaded Calibre 0.6.19 and the redownloaded Version launches fine, i've even restarted the computer just to be on the safe side. Everything works as it should! Great, but strange.
Thanks for your help and for making such a useful program
nopanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 02:41 PM   #13
bobsi18
Enthusiast
bobsi18 began at the beginning.
 
bobsi18's Avatar
 
Posts: 36
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SE Victoria, Australia
Device: iPhone & Sony Pocket (& support for a Kobo Wifi)
I just wanted to say that my version is working again as well - reading the replies here, I realised that I hadn't been fully uninstalling the program, just dropping over the top of the old copy. So I did a full uninstall, rebooted the computer, then reinstalled calibre. It seems to be all good again
bobsi18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2009, 06:43 PM   #14
martin-a
Junior Member
martin-a began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: New York, US
Device: none
Well, this all kind of worked. Redownload, delete old install, install. All is fine. Now comes 0.6.20. Delete old install, copy in new version, start-up works only once. Tried the same with coping over. Same problem. Re-download (mind you, the verification before was fine). Install after delete. Now I could start-up 3x. So, at best, this is a workaround, something seems to be a bit flaky.
martin-a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 06:03 PM   #15
alinp
Junior Member
alinp began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 1
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: none
Same problem here (OSX 10.5.8) I renamed python in .../Contents/MacOS/ and tried to start in Terminal. Here is the error I got in Terminal:

LSOpenFromURLSpec() failed with error -10810 for the file /Applications/calibre.app.

and here is the error I got in system.log:

Nov 14 13:43:40 AlinsMacBookPro com.apple.launchd[115] ([0x0-0xec0ec].net.kovidgoyal.calibre[3955]): posix_spawnp("/Applications/calibre.app/Contents/MacOS/python", ...): No such file or directory
Nov 14 13:43:40 AlinsMacBookPro com.apple.launchd[115] ([0x0-0xec0ec].net.kovidgoyal.calibre[3955]): Exited with exit code: 1


does this help? BTW...many thanks for all your hard work on this great program!
alinp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UPDATING Calibre ginette Calibre 8 11-16-2014 12:21 AM
updating calibre wrenn1 Kobo Reader 2 06-29-2010 01:22 AM
Updating Calibre drcjsnider Calibre 3 01-08-2010 01:17 PM
Calibre Corrupted on updating draghetto Calibre 9 11-21-2009 12:33 PM
Calibre not auto-updating Phonella Calibre 4 10-22-2009 08:37 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:06 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.